Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Commandos Strike at Dawn Details


Scripted by [[Performer~P111041~Irwin Shaw~irwinshaw]] from a story by [[Performer~P172915~C. S. Forester~csforester]] (of "Captain Horatio Hornblower" fame), Commandos Strike at Dawn is a wartime morale-booster, largely set in coastal Norway. [[Performer~P51322~Paul Muni~paulmuni]] stars as Eric Toresen, an apolitical and basically pacifistic Norwegian fisherman who is galvanized into action when his village is occupied by the Nazis. With a group of courageous resistance fighters, Toresen first endeavors to sabotage and demoralize the German troops then escapes to Britain, there to help organize commando raids against his country's oppressors. The supporting cast includes [[Performer~P41335~Anna Lee~annalee]] as the hero's true love, [[Performer~P38853~Alexander Knox~alexanderknox]] (two years away from his starring stint in the patriotic biopic [[Feature~V54699~Wilson~wilson]]) as an icy Nazi commandant, [[Performer~P93420~Cedric Hardwicke~cedrichardwicke]] as a stiff-upper-lip British officer, and [[Performer~P27129~Lillian Gish~lilliangish]] (in her first film appearance since 1931) as an iron-willed Norwegian townsperson. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Louis Gruenberg Best Score - Drama or Comedy 1943 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Morris W. Stoloff Best Score - Drama or Comedy 1943 Nominee


Paul Muni
as Erik Toresen
Anna Lee
as Judith Bowen
Lillian Gish
as Mrs. Bergesen
Cedric Hardwicke
as Adm. Bowen
Robert Coote
as Robert Bowen
Ray Collins
as Johan Bergesen
Rosemary de Camp
as Hilma Arnesen
Alexander Knox
as German Captain
Richard Derr
as Gunner Korstad
Erville Alderson
as Johan Garmo
Barbara Everest
as Mrs. Olav
Rod Cameron
as Pastor
Louis Jean Heydt
as Karl Arnesen
Ann Carter
as Solveig Toresen
Elsa Janssen
as Mrs. Korstad
Ferdinand Munier
as Mr. Korstad
George Macready
as Schoolteacher
Philip Van Zandt
as Thirsty Soldier
Lloyd Bridges
as Young Soldier
Walter Sande
as Otto


John Farrow
Lester Cowan
William C. Mellor
Morris W. Stoloff
Musical Direction/Supervision
Morris W. Stoloff
Composer (Music Score)
Louis Gruenberg
Composer (Music Score)
Anne Bauchens