Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Comedians Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The humorous title of this story taken from the novel by [[Performer~P92487~Graham Greene~grahamgreene]] gives the viewer the wrong impression. The story concerns the residents of a once-posh hotel in Haiti and the fate of the country's people under the despotic dictator Papa Doc Duvalier. Martha ([[Performer~P70015~Elizabeth Taylor~elizabethtaylor]]) is the philandering wife of a South American ambassador [[Performer~P114937~Peter Ustinov~peterustinov]]. She seeks solace in the arms of hotel-owner Brown ([[Performer~P83664~Richard Burton~richardburton]]), whose main focus is to keep making improvements on his crumbling building. [[Performer~P29203~Alec Guinness~alecguinness]] plays Jones, the suave charlatan who claims to be a retired military officer to hide his vocation as a shadowy weapons dealer. Brown later gets a sudden twinge of morality and decides to go off to the mountains to help the rebels in their heroic cause. Watch for silent film great [[Performer~P27129~Lillian Gish~lilliangish]] as Mrs. Smith in this plodding drama. ~ Dan Pavlides, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Lillian Gish Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1967 Nominee
National Board of Review Paul Ford Best Supporting Actor 1967 Winner

Cast

Richard Burton
as Brown
Elizabeth Taylor
as Martha Pineda
Alec Guinness
as Maj. Jones
Peter Ustinov
as Ambassador Pineda
Paul Ford
as Mr. Smith
Lillian Gish
as Mrs. Smith
Georg Stanford Brown
as Henri Philipot
Roscoe Lee Browne
as Petit Pierre
Gloria Foster
as Mme. Philipot
Zakes Mokae
as Michel
Douta Seck
as Joseph
Robin Langford
as Angelito
James Earl Jones
as Dr. Magiot
Cicely Tyson
as Marie Therese
Raymond St. Jacques
as Capt. Concasseur

Crew

Peter Glenville
Director
Peter Glenville
Producer
Graham Greene
Screenwriter
Graham Greene
Book Author
Henri Decaë
Cinematographer
Laurence Rosenthal
Musical Direction/Supervision
Laurence Rosenthal
Composer (Music Score)
Francoise Javet
Editor
Robert Christides
Set Designer
Jean-Michel Lacor
First Assistant Director
Ernest Day
Camera Operator
Advertisement