Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Cocaine Fiends Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Often compared to [[Feature~V40777~Reefer Madness~reefermadness]], this low-budget exploitation melodrama features [[Performer~P35238~Lois January~loisjanuary]] as Jane Bradford, a small-town coffee-shop waitress falling in love with smooth-talking city hoodlum Nick Brogan ([[Performer~P44522~Noel Madison~noelmadison]]), who gets her hooked on cocaine. While Jane goes from pretty ingénue to a hardened nightclub habitue known as Lil, her brother Eddie ([[Performer~P5507~Dean Benton~deanbenton]]), a waiter in a drive-in restaurant, is persuaded by co-worker Fanny ([[Performer~P45119~Sheila Manners~sheilamanners]]) to enjoy a night on the town. They both become addicts and Fanny is reduced to walking the streets for money. Pregnant and rejected by the hopped-up Eddie, she finally kills herself. Nick, meanwhile, attempts to seduce Dorothy Farley ([[Performer~P125627~Lois Lindsay~loislindsay]]), a bleach-blonde debutante, but the girl is saved in the nick of time by Jane/Lil, who shoots and kills their tormentor. The police arrive to arrest not only Jane but also the mysterious Mr. Big, who turns out to be Dorothy's father ([[Performer~P64812~Frank Shannon~frankshannon]]). Cocaine Fiends also features well-known character actress [[Performer~P32808~Fay Holden~fayholden]] ("Hasn't he told you yet? Those headache powders are dope!"), who hides behind her original stage moniker of Gaby Fay, and a full-length floor show that includes gawky singer Nona Lee performing "All I Want Is You." The film was a remake of [[Performer~P97223~Willis Kent~williskent]]'s silent [[Feature~V37035~The Pace That Kills~thepacethatkills]] (1928), footage from which is used throughout. ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Advertisement