Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Cemetery Club Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on the play by [[Performer~P167704~Ivan Menchell~ivanmenchell]], this drama concerns three friends, Doris ([[Performer~P20452~Olympia Dukakis~olympiadukakis]]), Lucille ([[Performer~P39955~Diane Ladd~dianeladd]]), and Esther ([[Performer~P9777~Ellen Burstyn~ellenburstyn]]). All three live in the same Jewish community in Pittsburgh, are in their mid-to-late 50s, and have become widows within the past few months. Once a week, they gather to visit their husbands' graves and meet at a deli afterward to talk about their lives. Doris remains fiercely devoted to her late husband and takes her responsibilities as a widow seriously. Lucille is eager to get her feet back in the waters of dating, partly as revenge against her late husband, who often cheated on her, and partly because she's very lonely by herself. Esther is also not used to being alone after 39 years of marriage, but she doesn't feel ready to start dating again, at least not until she meets Ben ([[Performer~P421~Danny Aiello~dannyaiello]]), a former cop turned cab driver who gradually but firmly eases his way into her life. Doris is appalled when she discovers that Esther is dating again and loudly protests that she's being disrespectful to her late husband, while Lucille is more than a bit jealous that Esther snagged a good man before she could. [[Performer~P54172~Jerry Orbach~jerryorbach]] and [[Performer~P60081~Lee Richardson~leerichardson]] appear in a brief prologue sequence. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Ellen Burstyn
as Esther Moskowitz
Olympia Dukakis
as Doris Silverman
Danny Aiello
as Ben Katz
Diane Ladd
as Lucille Rubin
Lainie Kazan
as Selma
Jeff Howell
as Paul
Christina Ricci
as Jessica
Bernie Casey
as John
Sam Schwartz
as Irving Jacobs
Wallace Shawn
as Larry
Louis Guss
as Ed Bonfigliano
Alice Eisner
as Rene
Hy Anzell
as Al
Irma St. Paule
as Theresa
Robert Costanzo
as Morty
Ben Tatar
as Man
Stephen Pearlman
as Rabbi
Bingo O'Malley
as Judge

Crew

Bill Duke
Director
David Brown
Producer
Sophie Hurst
Producer
Bonnie Palef-Woolf
Producer
Jay Presson Allen
Screenwriter
Ivan Menchell
Play Author
Ivan Menchell
Screenwriter
Steven Poster
Cinematographer
Elmer Bernstein
Composer (Music Score)
Sidney James
Musical Direction/Supervision
Maher Ahmad
Production Designer
Philip Rose
Executive Producer
David Manson
Executive Producer
Gene Serdena
Set Designer
Advertisement