Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Bride of Frankenstein Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This greatest of all Frankenstein movies begins during a raging thunderstorm. Warm and cozy inside their palatial villa, Lord Byron ([[Performer~P27780~Gavin Gordon~gavingordon]]), Percy Shelley ([[Performer~P74541~Douglas Walton~douglaswalton]]), and Shelley's wife Mary (Elsa Lanchester) engage in morbidly sparkling conversation. The wicked Byron mockingly chastises Mary for frightening the literary world with her recent novel Frankenstein, but Mary insists that her horror tale preached a valuable moral, that man was not meant to dabble in the works of God. Moreover, Mary adds that her story did not end with the death of Frankenstein's monster, whereupon she tells the enthralled Byron and Shelley what happened next. Surviving the windmill fire that brought the original 1931 [[Feature~V18476~Frankenstein~frankenstein]] to a close, the Monster ([[Performer~P36942~Boris Karloff~boriskarloff]]) quickly revives and goes on another rampage of death and destruction. Meanwhile, his ailing creator Henry Frankenstein ([[Performer~P13710~Colin Clive~colinclive]]) discovers that his former mentor, the demented Doctor Praetorius ([[Performer~P70488~Ernst Thesiger~ernstthesiger]]), plans to create another life-sized monster -- this time a woman! After a wild and wooly "creation" sequence, the bandages are unwrapped, and the Bride of the Monster (Elsa Lanchester again) emerges. Alas, the Monster's tender efforts to connect with his new Mate are rewarded only by her revulsion and hoarse screams. "She hate me," he growls, "Just like others!" Wonderfully acted and directed, The Bride of Frankenstein is further enhanced by the vivid [[Performer~P116115~Franz Waxman~franzwaxman]] musical score; even the film's occasional lapses in logic and continuity (it was trimmed from 90 to 75 minutes after the first preview) are oddly endearing. Director [[Performer~P116539~James Whale~jameswhale]] was memorably embodied by Ian McKellen in the Oscar-winning 1998 biopic Gods and Monsters. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:April 22, 1935

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gilbert Kurland Best Sound 1935 Nominee

Cast

Boris Karloff
as The Monster
Colin Clive
as Henry Frankenstein
Valerie Hobson
as Elizabeth Frankenstein
Elsa Lanchester
as Mary Shelley/The Bride
Ernst Thesiger
as Dr. Septimus Pretorius
Dwight Frye
as Karl
O.P. Heggie
as The Hermit
E.E. Clive
as Burgomaster
Una O'Connor
as Minnie
Lucien Prival
as Otto
Lucio Villegas
as Priest
Douglas Walton
as Percy Bysshe Shelley
Tempe Piggott
as Auntie Glutz
Helen Parrish
as Girl
Monte Montague
as King
Joan Woodbury
as Queen
Ted Billings
as Ludwig
Walter Brennan
as Neighbor
John Carradine
as Huntsman
Norman Ainsley
as Archbishop
Billy Barty
as Baby
Reginald Barlow
as Hans
Mary Gordon
as Hans's Wife
Helen Gibson
as Woman
Neil Fitzgerald
as Rudy
Gavin Gordon
as Lord Byron
Anne Darling
as Shepherdess
Gunnis Davis
as Uncle Glutz

Crew

James Whale
Director
Carl Laemmle, Jr.
Producer
William Hurlbut
Screenwriter
Mary Shelley
Book Author
John Mescall
Cinematographer
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
Ted Kent
Editor
Charles Hall
Art Director
John P. Fulton
Special Effects
Jack P. Pierce
Makeup
Advertisement