Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Boy and the Pirates Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Quickie-flick entrepreneur [[Performer~P92090~Bert I. Gordon~bertigordon]] makes a bid for the kiddie trade in The Boy and the Pirates. [[Performer~P31880~Charles Herbert~charlesherbert]], the juvenile star of [[Feature~V67116~13 Ghosts~13ghosts]], plays a contemporary kid who finds a bottle on the beach. The bottle contains genie [[Performer~P72130~Joseph Turkel~joeturkel]] (a loyal member of [[Performer~P98221~Stanley Kubrick~stanleykubrick]]'s "stock company"), who whisks [[Performer~P31880~Herbert~charlesherbert]] back in time and on board the pirate ship captained by Bluebeard ([[Performer~P73998~Murvyn Vye~murvynvye]], whose performance is as shamelessly over-the-top as anything concocted by [[Performer~P52468~Robert Newton~robertnewton]]). Reams of stock footage later, [[Performer~P31880~Herbert~charlesherbert]] escapes Bluebeard's clutches, together with his new friend [[Performer~P27828~Susan Gordon~susangordon]] ([[Performer~P92090~Bert I. Gordon~bertigordon]]'s daughter). Veteran Hollywood scrivener [[Performer~P93844~Lillie Hayward~lilliehayward]] brings some much-needed class and polish to the low-budget proceedings. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Charles Herbert
as Jimmy Warren
Susan Gordon
as Katrina Van Keif
Murvyn Vye
as Blackbeard
Paul Guilfoyle
as Snipe
Joe Turkel
as Abu the Genie
Archie Duncan
as Scoggins
Than Wyenn
as Hunter
Al Cavens
as Dutch Captain
Timothy Carey
as Morgan

Crew

Bert I. Gordon
Director
Bert I. Gordon
Producer
Jerry Sackheim
Screenwriter
Lillie Hayward
Screenwriter
Ernest Haller
Cinematographer
Albert Glasser
Composer (Music Score)
Jerome Thoms
Editor
Edward Ilou
Art Director
Advertisement