Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Borrowers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P94245~Peter Hewitt~peterhewitt]] ([[Feature~V135566~Tom and Huck~tomandhuck]]) directed this $30-million family film, an adaptation of Mary Norton's classic children's novels about a miniature family of wee folk, four inches high, living beneath the floorboards of an English cottage. The Borrowers family, so labeled because they "borrow" from the house's kitchen, consist of Pod Clock ([[Performer~P8575~Jim Broadbent~jimbroadbent]]), mother Homily ([[Performer~P141339~Celia Imre~celiaimrie]]), and children Arrietty (13-year-old [[Performer~P232802~Flora Newbigin~floranewbigin]]) and Peagreen ([[Performer~P232384~Tom Felton~tomfelton]]). Their adventure begins when they're almost caught in the kitchen by the Lenders, the tenants of the house, so they run for cover. When lawyer-Realtor Ocious P. Potter ([[Performer~P27679~John Goodman~johngoodman]]) discovers the owner of the house has died, he makes plans to evict the Lenders and demolish the building -- a situation where one would want to "neither a Borrower nor a Lender be." Fortunately, young Pete Lender ([[Performer~P232867~Bradley Pierce~bradleypierce]]) has become friends with Arrietty -- an alliance leading toward a method of thwarting Potter. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Cast

John Goodman
as Ocious P. Potter
Jim Broadbent
as Pod Clock
Mark Williams
as Exterminator Jeff
Hugh Laurie
as Officer Steady
Bradley Pierce
as Pete Lender
Flora Newbigin
as Arrietty Clock
Tom Felton
as Peagreen Clock
Raymond Pickard
as Spiller
Celia Imrie
as Homily Clock
Aden Gillett
as Joe Lender
Doon Mackichan
as Victoria Lende
Ruby Wax
as City Hall Clerk
Andrew Dunford
Patrick Monkton
Dick Ward

Crew

Peter Hewitt
Director
Tim Bevan
Producer
Eric Fellner
Producer
Rachel Talalay
Producer
Gavin Scott
Screenwriter
Trevor Brooker
Cinematographer
John Fenner
Cinematographer
Harry Gregson-Williams
Composer (Music Score)
David Freeman
Editor
Annie Kocur
Editor
Gemma Jackson
Production Designer
James Morahan
Supervising Art Director
Liza Chasin
Co-producer
Debra Hayward
Co-producer
Marie France
Costume Designer
Gareth Tandy
First Assistant Director
Nina Gold
Casting
Mary Richards
Line Producer
Joan Hills
Makeup
Joan Hills
Hair Styles
Jim Dowdall
Stunts Coordinator
Peter Chiang
Special Effects Supervisor
Advertisement