Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Big Sleep Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P49738~Robert Mitchum~robertmitchum]] reprises his role as [[Performer~P84666~Raymond Chandler~raymondchandler]]'s Philip Marlowe from [[Feature~V16806~Farewell, My Lovely~farewellmylovely]], in this misconceived remake of [[Performer~P93764~Howard Hawks~howardhawks]]'s classic 1946 film -- transferring the setting from 1940s California to 1970s London. Marlowe is hired by a rich and dying General Sternwood ([[Performer~P229307~James Stewart~jamesstewart]]) to find out who is blackmailing him. Marlowe then meets Sterwood's daughters -- the crazy and degenerate Camilla ([[Performer~P13342~Candy Clark~candyclark]]) and the more even-tempered Charlotte ([[Performer~P49123~Sarah Miles~sarahmiles]]). Opening up a can of worms, Marlowe unveils a collection of unsavory characters -- Eddie Mars ([[Performer~P59280~Oliver Reed~oliverreed]]), an inveterate gambler having an affair with Charlotte; Joe Brody ([[Performer~P24551~Edward Fox~edwardfox]]), Camilla's ex-lover; and Agnes ([[Performer~P14235~Joan Collins~joancollins]]), a sexy bookstore clerk. The plot becomes even more chaotic when it is found that Camilla has been posing in the nude for pornographer Arthur Geiger ([[Performer~P36567~John Justin~johnjustin]]). When Geiger turns up dead, Camilla becomes implicated in Geiger's murder. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:March 13, 1978

Cast

Robert Mitchum
as Philip Marlowe
Sarah Miles
as Charlotte Sternwood
Richard Boone
as Lash Canino
Candy Clark
as Camilla Sternwood
Joan Collins
as Agnes Lozelle
Edward Fox
as Joe Brody
John Mills
as Insp. Jim Carson
James Stewart
as Gen. Guy Sternwood
Oliver Reed
as Eddie Mars
Harry Andrews
as Vincent Norris
Colin Blakely
as Harry Jones
Richard Todd
as Commander Barker
Diana Quick
as Mona Mars
James Donald
as Inspector Gregory
John Justin
as Arthur Geiger
Dudley Sutton
as Lanny
Nik Forster
as Croupier
Joe Ritchie
as Taxi Driver
Patrick Durkin
as Reg
Derek Deadman
as Customer in Bookshop
Tom Laughlin
as Lou

Crew

Michael Winner
Director
Michael Winner
Producer
Harry Pottle
Producer
Elliott Kastner
Producer
Raymond Chandler
Book Author
Michael Winner
Screenwriter
Jerry Fielding
Composer (Music Score)
Freddie Wilson
Editor
Harry Pottle
Production Designer
John Graysmark
Art Director
Bernard Williams
Associate Producer
Ron Beck
Costume Designer
Hugh Strain
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Dryhurst
First Assistant Director
Clifton Brandon
Production Manager
Maude Spector
Casting
Advertisement