Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Art of War Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A spy who has convinced much of the world he doesn't exist now must prove that he does in order to save thousands of lives in this thriller. After the assassination of Wu ([[Performer~P94777~James Hong~jameshong]]), China's ambassador to the United Nations, in the midst of negotiations on a trade pact, FBI agent Neil Shaw ([[Performer~P66675~Wesley Snipes~wesleysnipes]]) is assigned to ferret out the killer by his superior, Eleanor Hooks ([[Performer~P2102~Anne Archer~annearcher]]). But Shaw soon discovers that he's now considered a key suspect in the murder, and is the subject of a manhunt. Shaw's ability to cover his tracks, and his network of similarly "invisible" agents, makes him a hard man to track down. But when Shaw learns that the real killers not only plan to strike again but intend to take out most of the U.N. in the process, he swings into action to prevent the attack and clear his name; Shaw is thrown into a partnership with Julia ([[Performer~P277856~Marie Matiko~mariematiko]]), a U.N. interpreter who witnessed Wu's murder and may be able to trace a recording of the crime. The Art of War co-stars [[Performer~P6111~Michael Biehn~michaelbiehn]] as Bly, one of Shaw's associates, and [[Performer~P69192~Donald Sutherland~donaldsutherland]] as the Secretary General of the United Nations. The film was originally written as a vehicle of Hong Kong action star [[Performer~P42291~Jet Li~jetli]] before [[Performer~P66675~Snipes~wesleysnipes]] stepped in as both star and executive producer. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 25, 2000

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Genie Awards Jocelyn Caron Best Sound 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Anne Pritchard Best Art Direction/Production Design 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Marc Gagnon Best Sound Editing 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Michel Arcand Best Editing 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Nathalie Fleurant Best Sound Editing 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Normand Corbeil Best Original Score 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Pierre Gill Best Cinematography 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Don Cohen Best Sound 2000 Nominee
Genie Awards Ginette Robitaille Best Art Direction/Production Design 2000 Nominee

Crew

Christian Duguay
Director
Oliver Stone
Producer
Nicolas Clermont
Producer
Simon Barry
Screenwriter
Wayne Beach
Screen Story
Wayne Beach
Screenwriter
Pierre Gill
Cinematographer
Normand Corbeil
Composer (Music Score)
Michel Arcand
Editor
Anne Pritchard
Production Designer
Jean Morin
Art Director
Pierre Perrault
Art Director
Don Carmody
Co-producer
Richard Lalonde
Co-producer
Alan Chu
Associate Producer
Dan Halsted
Executive Producer
Wesley Snipes
Executive Producer
Elie Samaha
Executive Producer
Ginette Robitaille
Set Designer
Ginette Robitaille
Set Decorator
Odette Gadoury
Costume Designer
Marc Gagnon
Sound/Sound Designer
Jocelyn Caron
Sound/Sound Designer
Don Cohen
Sound/Sound Designer
Nadia Rona
Casting
Rosina Bucci
Casting
Vera Miller
Casting
Pierre Raymond
Special Effects Supervisor
Pierre Raymond
Visual Effects Supervisor
Nathalie Fleurant
Sound Editor
Michael Scherer
Stunts Coordinator
Jeff Ward
Fights Choreographer
Louis Craig
Special Effects Coordinator
Georges Jardon
Special Effects Supervisor
Georges Jardon
Visual Effects Supervisor
Advertisement