Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Amateur Details


CIA computer technician [[Performer~P63326~John Savage~johnsavage]] seeks revenge for the terrorist killing of his girlfriend. Threatening to make public his insider's information, [[Performer~P63326~Savage~johnsavage]] forces his reluctant bosses to train him in the art of assassination. He then heads into enemy territory (at least, it was enemy territory back in 1982) on a search-and-destroy mission. There is nothing in [[Feature~V134245~The Amateur~amateur]] that we haven't seen elsewhere, but [[Performer~P63326~Savage~johnsavage]] and a solid cast of supporting players [[Performer~P57110~Christopher Plummer~christopherplummer]],[[Performer~P37435~Marthe Keller~marthekeller]], [[Performer~P32287~Arthur Hill~arthurhill]], [[Performer~P40825~Ed Lauter~edlauter]], [[Performer~P10532~Nicholas Campbell~nicholascampbell]], [[Performer~P61967~Jan Rubes~janrubes]] et. al.-- keep the proceedings lively. [[Performer~P99911~Robert Littell~robertlittell]] co-adapted the film's screenplay from his own novel. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Awarded by
Genie Awards Nicholas Campbell Best Supporting Actor 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Peter Shewchuk Best Sound Editing 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Austin Grimaldi Best Sound Editing 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Marthe Keller Best Actress - Foreign 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards John Savage Best Actor - Foreign 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Christopher Plummer Best Actor 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Michael O'Farrell Best Sound 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Chapelle Jaffe Best Supporting Actress 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Diana Maddox Best Adapted Screenplay 1982 Nominee
Genie Awards Dino Pigat Best Sound Editing 1982 Nominee


John Savage
as Charles Heller
Christopher Plummer
as Professor Lakos
Marthe Keller
as Elisabeth
Arthur Hill
as Brewer
Ed Lauter
as Anderson
Nicholas Campbell
as Schraeger
Jan Rubes
as Kaplan
Graham Jarvis
as Porter
Chapelle Jaffe
as Gretchen
Jan Triska
as Rodzenko
Miguel Fernandes
as Botaro
Lynne Griffin
as Sarah
John Marley
as Molton
Jacques Godin
as Argus
George Coe
as Rutledge
Vladimir Valenta
as Uncle Ludvik
Lisa Schrage
as 1st Teenage Girl
Erin Flannery
as Waitress
Vlasta Vrana
as Guide
Bob Lem
as Nakamura
George Buza
as 4th Terrorist
Robert Beatty
as Ambassador Neville
Jane Feinberg
Lee Broker
as Sharp-Eyed Man
Tedde Moore
as Newscaster
Henry Gomez
as Master Sergeant
Wally Bondarenko
as Czech Detective
John Kerr
as CIA Security Guard
Deirdre Bowen
Irena Mayeska
as Woman Clerk
Neil Dainard
as Slater
Mike Fenton
Guy Sanvido
as News Vendor
Peter Langley
as Demolitions Expert
George R. Robertson
as U.S. Consul


Charles Jarrott
Garth H. Drabinsky
Joel B. Michaels
Diana Maddox
Robert Littell
Screen Story
Robert Littell
John Coquillon
Ken Wannberg
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Halsey
Marilyn Stonehouse
Production Designer
Andrew G. Vajna
Executive Producer
Mario Kassar
Executive Producer
Suzanne Grace
Costume Designer
Aleida MacDonald
Costume Designer
Michael O'Farrell
Sound/Sound Designer
Dino Pigat
Sound Editor
Austin Grimaldi
Sound Editor
Peter Shewchuk
Sound Editor