Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension! Details


Despite mixed reviews and a disastrous initial release that dumped the film into theaters for a week in the midst of the 1984 Summer Olympics, The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the Eight Dimension went on to become one of the major cult films of the 1980s, developing a rabid following after its release on videotape. Drifting between satire and improbable sci-fi adventure, the film stars Peter Weller as Buckaroo Banzai, the son of an American mother and Japanese father who is a combination physicist, neurosurgeon, martial arts master, secret agent, and rock star who travels with his band of assistants/backing musicians, The Hong Kong Cavaliers. As the story opens, Buckaroo is driving his car through a mountain to test his new invention, the Oscillation Overthruster. However, a race of boorish aliens called the Red Lectroids have been waiting for such an item to become a reality, as they need it to return to the distant planet they call home. One of Buckaroo's arch-enemies, Dr. Emilio Lizardo (John Lithgow), who has been possessed by the Red Lectroids, attempted to created a similar device decades before; now escaped from an insane asylum, he is back at work with the Lectroids on a plan to control the world. Throw in Rastafarian aliens, unscheduled travel between dimensions, and the odd inexplicable watermelon, and you get a film that defies conventional synopsis. With its fast pace, quotable dialogue ("No matter where you go, there you are"), and barrage of gags (subtle and otherwise), you won't be bored even when you're not sure what's going on. The supporting cast includes Jeff Goldblum as New Jersey, a Cavalier with a snappy cowboy outfit, and Ellen Barkin as Penny Priddy, the twin sister of Buckaroo's late wife. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 15, 1984


Peter Weller
as Buckaroo Banzai
John Lithgow
as Dr. Emilio Lizardo
Ellen Barkin
as Penny Priddy
Jeff Goldblum
as New Jersey
Christopher Lloyd
as John Bigboote
Rosalind Cash
as John Emdall
Robert Ito
as Prof.Hikita
Pepe Serna
as Reno Nevada
Ronald Lacey
as President Widmark
Matt Clark
as Secretary of Defense
Clancy Brown
as Rawhide
Ken Magee
as Duck Hunter Burt
Reed Morgan
as Exhibitor
John Walter Davis
as Star Surgeon
Kent Perkins
as Mission Control
Billy Vera
as Pinky Carruthers
Laura Harrington
as Mrs. Johnson
Yakov Smirnoff
as National Security Advisor
Bill Henderson
as Casper Lindley
Michael Santoro
as Billy Travers
James Keane
as Duck Hunter Bubba
Leonard Gaines
as Artie Duncan
William Traylor
as Gen. Catburd
John Lithgow
as Lord John Whorfin
Dan Hedaya
as John Gomez
Raye Birk
as 1st Reporter
Damon Hines
as Scooter Lindley
Mariclare Costello
as Sen. Cunningham
Francine Lembi
as TV Anchorwoman
Jonathan Banks
as Lizardo Hospital Guard
James Saito
as Dr. Masado Banzai
Jesse Lawrence Ferguson
as Black Lectroid
Jane Marla Robbins
as 2nd Reporter
Kevin Rodney Sullivan
as John Gant
Robert Gray
as First Radar Blaze
Vincent Schiavelli
as John O'Connor
John Ashton
as Highway Patrolman
Carl Lumbly
as John Parker
Gary Bisig
as Second Radar Blaze


W.D. Richter
W.D. Richter
Neil Canton
Fred Koenekamp
Bones Howe
Musical Direction/Supervision
Richard Marks
George Bowers
J. Michael Riva
Production Designer
Rick Carter
Art Director
Stephen Dane
Art Director
Dennis E. Jones
Associate Producer
Sidney Beckerman
Executive Producer
Linda de Scenna
Set Designer
Aggie Guerard Rodgers
Costume Designer
Michael Evje
Sound/Sound Designer
Bones Howe
Sound/Sound Designer
Gary Daigler
First Assistant Director
Katterli A. Frauenfelder
First Assistant Director
Terry Liebling
Dennis E. Jones
Production Manager