Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The 13th Warrior Details


A cultured diplomat joins a band of savage warriors in time to meet an even more fearsome enemy in this historical adventure. In 922 A.D., Ibn Fadlan (Antonio Banderas) is a Muslim emissary from Baghdad en route to meet with the King of Saqaliba when he is captured by a gang of Vikings. While Ibn and his people are intelligent and well-mannered, the Vikings are a rowdy and sometimes unpleasant lot, with an unquenchable appetite for food, alcohol, and women. However, in time he develops an understanding and respect for the Viking warriors and is welcomed into their society by their leader, Buliwyf. However, Ibn must now join them as they return to their homeland once they receive word of an invasion by a huge pack of bloodthirsty invaders who will destroy and eat anything in their path -- including the flesh of the men they have killed. The 13th Warrior was based on the book Eaters of the Dead by Michael Crichton, which was in turn adapted from tales of Viking folklore. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 27, 1999


Antonio Banderas
as Ibn Fadlan
Diane Venora
as Queen Weilew
Dennis Storhoi
as Herger the Joyous
Vladimir Kulich
as Buliwyf
Omar Sharif
as Melchisidek
Anders T. Andersen
as Wigliff, King Hrothgar's son
Richard Bremmer
as Skeld The Superstitious
Tony Curran
as Weath the Musician
Mischa Hausserman
as Rethel The Archer
Neil Maffin
as Roneth The Horseman
Asbjorn Riis
as Halga the Wise
Clive Russell
as Helfdane The Large
Daniel Southern
as Edgtho the Silent
Oliver Sveinall
as Haltaf the Boy
Sven Wollter
as King Hrothgar
Albie Woodington
as Hyglak The Quarrelsome
Sven Ole Thorsen
as Would-be King


John McTiernan
John McTiernan
Michael Crichton
Ned Dowd
Michael Crichton
Book Author
Warren Lewis
John Clothier
David Gribble
Peter Menzies, Jr.
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
John Wright
Wolf Kroeger
Production Designer
Willie Heslup
Art Director
Lou Arkoff
Ethan Dubrow
Executive Producer
Andrew G. Vajna
Executive Producer
Rose Marie McSherry
Set Designer
Kate Harrington
Costume Designer
Robert Eber
Sound/Sound Designer
Christopher Boyes
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruce G. Moriarty
First Assistant Director
Pat McCorkle
Brent Woolsey
Stunts Coordinator
John E. Sullivan
Second Unit Director
John E. Sullivan
Visual Effects Supervisor