Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

That's Entertainment! III Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In 1974, MGM Studios released its first compilation of musical highlights from 45 years of Hollywood extravaganzas. Entitled [[Feature~V49303~That's Entertainment!~thatsentertainment]], it was a big box-office hit and inspired a second compilation two years later. Eighteen years went by before MGM tried again. The third installment of the series contains a total of 62 musical numbers and includes scenes from more than 100 films. The cavalcade of memories is hosted by nine stars from the old musicals: [[Performer~P97107~Gene Kelly~genekelly]], [[Performer~P76434~Esther Williams~elliswilliams]], [[Performer~P59782~Debbie Reynolds~debbiereynolds]], [[Performer~P108826~Mickey Rooney~mickeyrooney]], [[Performer~P33273~Lena Horne~lenahorne]], [[Performer~P1146~June Allyson~juneallyson]], [[Performer~P12398~Cyd Charisse~cydcharisse]], [[Performer~P205448~Ann Miller~annacmiller]], and [[Performer~P37315~Howard Keel~howardkeel]]. The film is loaded with outtakes and unfinished numbers that didn't make the cut of the original musicals. At many points, there is a split screen, showing the finished product as filmed as well as behind-the-scenes confusion. It's as much a comic "bloopers" TV show as a tribute to the heyday of the musical. ~ Michael Betzold, Rovi

Cast

June Allyson
as Host
Cyd Charisse
as Host
Lena Horne
as Host
Howard Keel
as Host
Gene Kelly
as Host
Debbie Reynolds
as Host
Esther Williams
as Host
Ann Miller
as Host
Mickey Rooney
as Host
Joan Crawford

Crew

Marc Shaiman
Composer (Music Score)
Marilee Bradford
Musical Direction/Supervision
Bill Teague
Production Designer
David Kelson
Sound Mixer
Advertisement