Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

That Forsyte Woman Details


Though one might have expected friction between MGM's resident "nice lady" [[Performer~P26066~Greer Garson~greergarson]] and Warner Bros. notorious "bad boy" [[Performer~P90030~Errol Flynn~errolflynn]], the two got along splendidly during the filming of That Forsyte Woman. Based loosely on [[Feature~V39512~The Man of Property~thepropertyman]], book one of [[Performer~P25686~John Galsworthy~johngalsworthy]]'s Forsyte Saga, the film casts Garson as Irene Forsyte, the independently-minded wife of tradition-bound Victorian "man of property" Soames Forsyte (Flynn). Rebelling against her husband's repressed nature and preoccupation with material possessions, Irene falls in love with unconventional architect Philip Bossiney ([[Performer~P263868~Robert Young~robertyoung]]). When he proves to be too free-spirited even for her, Irene moves on to the Forsyte clan's black sheep, Young Jolyon ([[Performer~P56729~Walter Pidgeon~walterpidgeon]]). Soames makes a belated attempt to win his wife back, but once again proves incapable of warmth, compassion or understanding. The casting-against-type of Garson and Flynn was fascinating, even when the film itself dragged (Flynn in fact was slated to play either Bossiney or Young Jolyon, but insisted upon taking the less characteristic role of Soames). [[Feature~V113139~That Forstye Woman~thatwoman]] was lavishly photographed in color on MGM's standing "British" sets. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Irene Valles Best Color Costume Design 1950 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Walter Plunkett Best Color Costume Design 1950 Winner


Errol Flynn
as Soames Forsyte
Greer Garson
as Irene Forsyte
Walter Pidgeon
as Young Jolyon Forsyte
Robert Young
as Philip Bosinney
Janet Leigh
as June Forsyte
Harry Davenport
as Old Jolyon Forsyte
Aubrey Mather
as James Forsyte
Lumsden Hare
as Roger Forsyte
Halliwell Hobbes
as Nicholas Forsyte
Matt Moore
as Timothy Forsyte
Florence Auer
as Ann Forsyte Hayman
Phyllis Morris
as Julia Forsyte Small
Marjorie Eaton
as Hester Forsyte
Evelyn Beresford
as Mrs. Taylor
Reginald Sheffield
as Mr. McLean
Lillian Bond
as Maid
Colin Kenny
as Constable
Jimmy Aubrey
as Cabby
Charles McNaughton
as Attendant
Constance Cavendish
as Alice Forsyte
Frank Baker
as Lord Dunstable
Morgan Farley
as Bookseller
Nina Borget
Olaf Hytten
as Assistant
Herbert Evans
as MC
Isabel Randolph
as Mrs. Winthrop
Jack Chefe
Jim Hawkins
as Gerald
Leonard Carey
as Butler
Leyland Hodgson
as Detective
Richard Lupino
as Chester Forsyte
Rolfe Sedan
as Official
Wallis Clark
as Cabby
Wilson Wood
as Eric Forsyte
Johnny Sheffield
Billy Bevan
as Porter


Leon Gordon
Ivan Tors
Jan Lustig
John Galsworthy
Book Author
Arthur Wimperis
Joseph Ruttenberg
Bronislau Kaper
Composer (Music Score)
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Edwin B. Willis
Set Designer
Walter Plunkett
Costume Designer
Irene Valles
Costume Designer
Jack Dawn