Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Thank You for Smoking Details


The directorial debut from Jason Reitman, the media satire Thank You for Smoking stars Aaron Eckhart as Nick, a man who has turned spinning news and information into a successful career for the tobacco lobby. He plots strategies with his colleagues (Maria Bello and David Koechner) on how to make other dangerous products more appealing to the American public. Nick ends up going to Hollywood with his young son (Cameron Bright) in order to get a movie producer to include characters smoking in his newest film. Nick is kidnapped by a vigilante group concerned about the harmful nature of his product. The cast includes William H. Macy as a Senator who runs on a strong anti-tobacco position, Rob Lowe as the Hollywood bigwig, and Robert Duvall as the king of the tobacco industry. The film is an adaptation of the novel of the same name by Christopher Buckley. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:March 17, 2006


Awarded by
Las Vegas Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Screenplay 2006 Winner
San Diego Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Winner
National Board of Review Jason Reitman Best Directorial Debut 2006 Winner
Washington D.C. Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Jason Reitman Best Screenplay 2006 Winner
Online Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Breakthrough Filmmaker 2006 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Most Promising Director 2006 Nominee
Toronto Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best First Feature 2006 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Aaron Eckhart Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Aaron Eckhart Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2006 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Aaron Eckhart Best Actor 2006 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Cameron Bright Best Young Actor 2006 Nominee


Aaron Eckhart
as Nick Naylor
Maria Bello
as Polly Bailey
Cameron Bright
as Joey Naylor
Adam Brody
as Jack
Sam Elliott
as Lorne Lutch
Katie Holmes
as Heather Holloway
David Koechner
as Bobby Jay Bliss
Rob Lowe
as Jeff Megall
William H. Macy
as Senator Ortolan Finistirre
J.K. Simmons
as BR
Robert Duvall
as The Captain
Kim Dickens
as Jill Naylor
Connie Ray
as Pearl
Todd Louiso
as Ron Goode
Bruce French
as Gentleman #2
Melora Hardin
as Interviewer
Joan Lunden
as Herself
Marianne Muellerleile
as Teacher
Catherine Reitman
as Reporter #1
Dennis Miller
as Himself
Earl Billings
as Senator Dupree
Richard Speight, Jr.
as Trainee
Spencer Garrett
as Senator Lothridge
Alex Diaz
as Kid # 1
Aaron Lustig
as Doctor
Brian Palermo
as Voice Of F.B.I. Agent
Eric Maldonado
as Tobacco Club Host
Jordan Orr
as Kid # 4
Roy Jenkins
as Debate Moderator
Karen Harrison
as Nurse
Sean Patrick Murphy
as Reporter #2
Kathryn Winslow
as Jeanette
Eric Haberman
as Robin Williger
Jordan Garrett
as Kid # 2
Rachel Thorp
as Flighty Girl
Renee Graham
as Tiffany
Michael Mantell
as Dr. Meisenbach
Tonyo Melendez
as Mr. Herera
David Sacks
as Oil Lobbyist
Howard Weitzman
as Gentleman #1
Nancy O'Dell
as Herself
Timothy Dowling
as EGO Assistant
Daniel Travis
as Brad
Jeff Witzke
as Kidnapper
Courtney Taylor Burness
as Kid # 3


Jason Reitman
David Sacks
Jason Reitman
Christopher Buckley
Book Author
Jim Whitaker
Rolfe Kent
Composer (Music Score)
Margaret Yen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Peter Afterman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Steve Saklad
Production Designer
Michael R. Newman
Mindy Marin
Daniel Dubiecki
Daniel Brunt
Stephen Belafonte
Associate Producer
Elon Musk
Executive Producer
John Schmidt
Executive Producer
Mark Woolway
Executive Producer
Michael Beugg
Executive Producer
Edward R. Pressman
Executive Producer
Peter Thiel
Executive Producer
Max Levchin
Executive Producer
Alessandro Camon
Executive Producer
Daniel Glicker
Costume Designer
Kurt Meisenbach
Set Decorator
Karen Iacofano
Camera Operator
Bruce Oldham
Camera Operator
Scott Kaye
Camera Operator
David Insley
Camera Operator
Genaro Rodriguez
Craft Service/Catering
Ralph Coon
Josh Sarfaty
Michael Beugg
Unit Production Manager
Carmelo Randazzo
Craft Service/Catering
Robin Luce
Valarie Payne
Personal Assistant
Adam Zadikoff
Post Production Assistant
Eugene Tillman
Mike Artino
Set Medic/First Aid
Cathy Weiner
Casting Assistant
Tony Ayala
Alex Reilly
Josh Medak
First Assistant Camera
Paul Drenning
ADR Mixer
Heather Ignarro
Production Coordinator
Gilbert Young
Transportation Coordinator
Maxine Morris
Key Hairstylist
Sharon Stetzel
Production Coordinator
Robert Althoff
Bob Weber
Post Production Accountant
Blake Santoro
Anthony Canard
Mike Belt
Casey Garrett
Properties Maker
Jason Blumenfeld
Assistant Director
Asa McCall
Set Production Assistant
Dana Lewis
Set Production Assistant
David Falicki
Set Medic/First Aid
Eric Hunsaker
Assistant Properties
Carlos M. Serrano
Perry Robertson
Supervising Sound Editor
Charlie Newberry
Camera Loader
Tom Lamont
Nicole Hirsch-Whitaker
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Richard Dwan
Sound Editor
Shawn Stoddard
Dolly Grip
Jeffrey Wank
Personal Assistant
Bob Dohrmann
Production Supervisor
Kevin Wenger
Properties Maker
Neil Chisholm
Glynn Williams
Marsha Lewis
Department Head Hair
Dale Robinette
Still Photographer
William Smallwood
Vladimir Tamayo
Jill Rosenblatt
First Assistant Accountant
Deano Manley
Best Boy Grip
Patrick Cabral
Foley Artist
Kenji Luster
Steadicam Operator
Andrew Depung
Camera Loader
Elisabeth Fry
Packy Lennon
Rhett Bloomquist
Dolly Grip
Barney Cabral
Supervising ADR Editor
Cynthia Merrill
Foley Artist
Timothy Gordon
Sherri Bramlett
Key Hairstylist
Geno Hart
Transportation Coordinator
Joe Dornich
Set Production Assistant
Colin Hudson
Steadicam Operator
Kurt Uebersax
Second Second Assistant Director
Len Schmitz
Production Sound Mixer
Paul Flinton
Boom Operator
Virgil Sanchez
Special Effects Technician
David J. Bloomfield
Co-Executive Producer
Carl Catanese
Craig Dollinger
Boom Operator
Joseph Taggart
Stuart Stein
Second Assistant Camera
Casey Mako
Second Second Assistant Director
Robert Malina
First Assistant Editor
Robert Malina
Visual Effects Editor
Mike Delnero
Nino Aldi
Set Production Assistant
Amy Smolev
First Assistant Accountant
Donald Diggs
Deborah Dalton
Costumes Supervisor
Steven Samanen
Assistant Art Director
Theresa Greene
Art Department Coordinator
Dean Citroni
Key Grip
Melissa Hofmann
Re-Recording Mixer
Adam Jenkins
Re-Recording Mixer
Ted Ayd
Best Boy Electric
Peter Roskovich
Craft Service/Catering
Donald Burghardt
First Assistant Camera
Konrad Sigurdsson
Best Boy Electric
Cosmas Paul Bolger Jr.
Visual Effects Producer
Cosmas Paul Bolger Jr.
Visual Effects Supervisor
Phil Hardt
Rick Strodel
Best Boy Grip
Geordy Sincavage
Foley Mixer