Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Thank You for Smoking Details


The directorial debut from Jason Reitman, the media satire Thank You for Smoking stars Aaron Eckhart as Nick, a man who has turned spinning news and information into a successful career for the tobacco lobby. He plots strategies with his colleagues (Maria Bello and David Koechner) on how to make other dangerous products more appealing to the American public. Nick ends up going to Hollywood with his young son (Cameron Bright) in order to get a movie producer to include characters smoking in his newest film. Nick is kidnapped by a vigilante group concerned about the harmful nature of his product. The cast includes William H. Macy as a Senator who runs on a strong anti-tobacco position, Rob Lowe as the Hollywood bigwig, and Robert Duvall as the king of the tobacco industry. The film is an adaptation of the novel of the same name by Christopher Buckley. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:March 17, 2006


Awarded by
Las Vegas Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Screenplay 2006 Winner
San Diego Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Winner
National Board of Review Jason Reitman Best Directorial Debut 2006 Winner
Washington D.C. Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Jason Reitman Best Screenplay 2006 Winner
Online Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Breakthrough Filmmaker 2006 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Most Promising Director 2006 Nominee
Toronto Film Critics Association Jason Reitman Best First Feature 2006 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Aaron Eckhart Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Aaron Eckhart Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2006 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Aaron Eckhart Best Actor 2006 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Cameron Bright Best Young Actor 2006 Nominee


Aaron Eckhart
as Nick Naylor
Maria Bello
as Polly Bailey
Cameron Bright
as Joey Naylor
Adam Brody
as Jack
Sam Elliott
as Lorne Lutch
Katie Holmes
as Heather Holloway
David Koechner
as Bobby Jay Bliss
Rob Lowe
as Jeff Megall
William H. Macy
as Senator Ortolan Finistirre
J.K. Simmons
as BR
Robert Duvall
as The Captain
Kim Dickens
as Jill Naylor
Connie Ray
as Pearl
Todd Louiso
as Ron Goode
Roy Jenkins
as Debate Moderator
Rachel Thorp
as Flighty Girl
Michael Mantell
as Dr. Meisenbach
Richard Speight, Jr.
as Trainee
Courtney Taylor Burness
as Kid # 3
Daniel Travis
as Brad
Marianne Muellerleile
as Teacher
Joan Lunden
as Herself
Jordan Orr
as Kid # 4
Howard Weitzman
as Gentleman #1
Jeff Witzke
as Kidnapper
Aaron Lustig
as Doctor
Brian Palermo
as Voice Of F.B.I. Agent
Catherine Reitman
as Reporter #1
Nancy O'Dell
as Herself
Earl Billings
as Senator Dupree
Spencer Garrett
as Senator Lothridge
Alex Diaz
as Kid # 1
Eric Maldonado
as Tobacco Club Host
Jordan Garrett
as Kid # 2
Dennis Miller
as Himself
Tonyo Melendez
as Mr. Herera
Kathryn Winslow
as Jeanette
Eric Haberman
as Robin Williger
Renee Graham
as Tiffany
Timothy Dowling
as EGO Assistant
Melora Hardin
as Interviewer
Bruce French
as Gentleman #2
Karen Harrison
as Nurse
Sean Patrick Murphy
as Reporter #2
David Sacks
as Oil Lobbyist


Jason Reitman
David Sacks
Jason Reitman
Christopher Buckley
Book Author
Jim Whitaker
Margaret Yen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Rolfe Kent
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Afterman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Steve Saklad
Production Designer
Mindy Marin
Daniel Brunt
Daniel Dubiecki
Michael R. Newman
Stephen Belafonte
Associate Producer
Alessandro Camon
Executive Producer
Michael Beugg
Executive Producer
Peter Thiel
Executive Producer
Elon Musk
Executive Producer
Max Levchin
Executive Producer
John Schmidt
Executive Producer
Edward R. Pressman
Executive Producer
Mark Woolway
Executive Producer
Kurt Meisenbach
Set Decorator
Daniel Glicker
Costume Designer
David Insley
Camera Operator
Bruce Oldham
Camera Operator
Karen Iacofano
Camera Operator
Scott Kaye
Camera Operator
Alex Reilly
Robert Althoff
Paul Drenning
ADR Mixer
Deano Manley
Best Boy Grip
Charlie Newberry
Camera Loader
Casey Garrett
Properties Maker
Joseph Taggart
Amy Smolev
First Assistant Accountant
Robert Malina
First Assistant Editor
Robert Malina
Visual Effects Editor
Paul Flinton
Boom Operator
Mike Delnero
Cosmas Paul Bolger Jr.
Visual Effects Producer
Cosmas Paul Bolger Jr.
Visual Effects Supervisor
Kenji Luster
Steadicam Operator
Andrew Depung
Camera Loader
Elisabeth Fry
Barney Cabral
Supervising ADR Editor
Cynthia Merrill
Foley Artist
Dana Lewis
Set Production Assistant
Shawn Stoddard
Dolly Grip
Kevin Wenger
Properties Maker
William Smallwood
Josh Medak
First Assistant Camera
Gilbert Young
Transportation Coordinator
Mike Belt
Carmelo Randazzo
Craft Service/Catering
Robin Luce
Valarie Payne
Personal Assistant
Blake Santoro
Patrick Cabral
Foley Artist
Joe Dornich
Set Production Assistant
Perry Robertson
Supervising Sound Editor
Jason Blumenfeld
Assistant Director
Michael Beugg
Unit Production Manager
Josh Sarfaty
Casey Mako
Second Second Assistant Director
Stuart Stein
Second Assistant Camera
Carlos M. Serrano
Ralph Coon
Richard Dwan
Sound Editor
Neil Chisholm
Glynn Williams
Tony Ayala
Adam Zadikoff
Post Production Assistant
Tom Lamont
Nicole Hirsch-Whitaker
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Jeffrey Wank
Personal Assistant
Dale Robinette
Still Photographer
Geno Hart
Transportation Coordinator
Kurt Uebersax
Second Second Assistant Director
Eric Hunsaker
Assistant Properties
Virgil Sanchez
Special Effects Technician
Carl Catanese
Melissa Hofmann
Re-Recording Mixer
Ted Ayd
Best Boy Electric
Deborah Dalton
Costumes Supervisor
Theresa Greene
Art Department Coordinator
Phil Hardt
Donald Burghardt
First Assistant Camera
Konrad Sigurdsson
Best Boy Electric
Vladimir Tamayo
Packy Lennon
Sharon Stetzel
Production Coordinator
Timothy Gordon
David Falicki
Set Medic/First Aid
Genaro Rodriguez
Craft Service/Catering
David J. Bloomfield
Co-Executive Producer
Dean Citroni
Key Grip
Steven Samanen
Assistant Art Director
Peter Roskovich
Craft Service/Catering
Bob Dohrmann
Production Supervisor
Marsha Lewis
Department Head Hair
Cathy Weiner
Casting Assistant
Bob Weber
Post Production Accountant
Heather Ignarro
Production Coordinator
Rick Strodel
Best Boy Grip
Geordy Sincavage
Foley Mixer
Jill Rosenblatt
First Assistant Accountant
Nino Aldi
Set Production Assistant
Donald Diggs
Adam Jenkins
Re-Recording Mixer
Anthony Canard
Eugene Tillman
Rhett Bloomquist
Dolly Grip
Sherri Bramlett
Key Hairstylist
Colin Hudson
Steadicam Operator
Len Schmitz
Production Sound Mixer
Asa McCall
Set Production Assistant
Mike Artino
Set Medic/First Aid
Maxine Morris
Key Hairstylist
Craig Dollinger
Boom Operator