Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Over ten years after making the original [[Feature~V49206~Texas Chainsaw Massacre~thetexaschainsawmassacre]], [[Performer~P94802~Tobe Hooper~tobehooper]] returns to his deranged family of reclusive cannibals for another round of chainsaw chases and non-stop screaming. [[Performer~P94802~Hooper~tobehooper]] brings a real budget this time (having recently directed [[Feature~V38628~Poltergeist~poltergeist]] for [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]]) and the talents of veteran make-up artist [[Performer~P110003~Tom Savini~tomsavini]]. This means he can make things bigger, louder, and gorier than ever before -- and they are. He also brings a wacky, self-deprecating sense of humor, as if deliberately flaunting [[Feature~V49206~Texas Chainsaw Massacre~thetexaschainsawmassacre]]'s status as one of the first and still greatest "splatter" movies. The result is an impish take-off on the original film (and contemporary horror movies in general) that elevates its own clichés -- buckets of blood and gore, droll dialogue, the screaming female lead -- to the level of high camp. The movie is loosely concerned with a small-town disc jockey named "Stretch" ([[Performer~P76396~Caroline Williams~carolinewilliams]], who does most of the screaming) and an embittered Texas Ranger named "Lefty" ([[Performer~P94825~Dennis Hopper~dennishopper]]). They team up and decide to put an end to the murderous activities of the Sawyer family once and for all (that is, of course, until [[Feature~V49206~Texas Chainsaw Massacre III~thetexaschainsawmassacre]]). The real highlight of the film is when Stretch and Lefty find their way into the Sawyer family hideout -- a ruinous, winding abattoir underneath an abandoned amusement park -- and engage in a chainsaw-battle-to-the-death with Leatherface ([[Performer~P227861~Bill Johnson~billjohnson]]) and the rest of the clan. [[Performer~P65566~Jim Siedow~jimsiedow]] is back from the first film as the acerbic Drayton Sawyer, the family cook and owner of the Last Roundup Rolling Grill. Chop-Top ([[Performer~P50950~Bill Moseley~billmoseley]]) and Leatherface do most of the movie's dirty work. ~ Anthony Reed, Rovi

  • Release date:August 22, 1986

Cast

Dennis Hopper
as Lt. "Lefty" Enright
Caroline Williams
as Vanita "Stretch" Brock
Bill Johnson
as Leatherface
Jim Siedow
as Drayton Sawyer the Cook
Bill Moseley
as Chop-Top
Lou Perry
as L.G. McPeters
Barry Kinyon
as Mercedes driver
Chris Douridas
as Gunner
Joe Bob Briggs
as Gonzo Mothcock
Daniel Jenkins
as TV Commentator
James Harrell
as CutRite Manager
Wirt Cain
as Anchorman
Harlan Jordan
as Patrolman
Judy Kelly
as Gourmet Yuppette
Ken Evert
as Grandpa
Kinky Friedman
as Sports Anchor
Kirk Sisco
as Detective

Crew

Tobe Hooper
Director
Tobe Hooper
Producer
Yoram Globus
Producer
Menahem Golan
Producer
Henry Holmes
Producer
L.M. Kit Carson
Screenwriter
Richard Kooris
Cinematographer
Tobe Hooper
Composer (Music Score)
Jerry Lambert
Composer (Music Score)
Alain Jakubowicz
Editor
Cary White
Production Designer
Pat Welsome
Set Designer
Carin Hooper
Costume Designer
Tom Savini
Makeup Special Effects
Advertisement