Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ted and Venus Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P85967~Bud Cort~budcort]]'s directorial debut is a dark comedy about a romantic obsession that leads to tragedy, featuring a wide array of cameo performances including [[Performer~P8656~James Brolin~jamesbrolin]], [[Performer~P36788~Carol Kane~carolkane]], [[Performer~P55684~Rhea Perlman~rheaperlman]], [[Performer~P103749~Martin Mull~martinmull]], [[Performer~P45915~Andrea Martin~andreamartin]], [[Performer~P30548~Woody Harrelson~woodyharrelson]], [[Performer~P41245~Timothy Leary~drtimothyleary]], and [[Performer~P61889~Gena Rowlands~genarowlands]]. Cort is Ted Whitley, a local poet celebrity in Venice Beach, California, who spends his time drifting along the boardwalk and delivering his beat poetry inspirations at a local dive. As he sits on a pier composing his latest art work, a vision of incredible beauty --Linda Turner ([[Performer~P290~Kim Adams~kimadams]])-- strolls by in a bikini and Ted is immediately smitten. Linda turns out to be the manager of the agency that Ted has used to try to find a new apartment. He flatters her with his attentions and his poetic rambles. For her part, she likes Ted but doesn't consider him romantic material. Ted misinterprets Linda's friendliness for amorousness and when Linda tries to back off from Ted, Ted cannot be stopped. His out-of-control obsession for Linda turns Linda's once-friendly demeanor into one of terror. But Ted continues stalking her until tragedy strikes. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

Bud Cort
as Ted Whitley
James Brolin
as Max Waters
Kim Adams
as Linda Turner
Carol Kane
as Colette/Colette's twin sister
Pamella D'Pella
as Gloria
Brian Thompson
as Herb
Woody Harrelson
as Homeless Viet Nam Veteran
Dr. Timothy Leary
as Judge H. Converse
Andrea Martin
as Bag Lady
Martin Mull
as Ted's Attorney
Tracy Reiner
as Shelly
Vincent Schiavelli
as Publisher
Arleen Sorkin
as Marcia
Rhea Perlman
as Grace
Gena Rowlands
as Mrs. Turner
Rob Moran
as Patient
Chad Taylor
as Chainsaw Juggler
Pat McCormick
as Marcia's Elderly Boyfriend
Lily Mariye
as Rose
Grif Griffis
as 2nd Woman
Norma Maldonado
as Cop #5
Mik Scriba
as Prison Guard
John Blythe Barrymore
as Patient
Jack Eastland
as Club Emcee
Tamara de Treaux
as Park Bench Lover
Pete Koch
as Cop #1
Bridget Flaherty
as Women's Group #1
Carl Rumburg
as 2nd Cop
Rick Montgomery
Tony Genaro
as Bailiff
Roberta Wallach
as District Attorney
Zoe Cassavetes
as Waitress with Attitutde
Tricia O'Neil
as Judge Katherine Notch
Cassandra Peterson
as Lisa
Jacqueline Chauvin
as Women's Group Head
Jim Maniaci
as 3rd Prisoner
Jerome Coleman
as Park Bench Lover
Christopher McMullen
as Horseback Rider
Barbara Leary
as Guest
Stefanos Miltsakakis
as 1st Prisoner
Dan Parada
Shelly Werk
as Nurse
Pat Ast
as Women's Group #2
Victor Talmadge
as Orderly

Crew

Bud Cort
Director
William Talmadge
Producer
Krishna Shah
Producer
Randall Kubota
Producer
Paul Ciotti
Screenwriter
William Martens
Screenwriter
Bud Cort
Screenwriter
Dietrich Lohmann
Cinematographer
Katina Zinner
Editor
Peter Zinner
Editor
Lynn Christopher
Production Designer
Robert Stover
Art Director
William Martens
Associate Producer
Gene Serdena
Set Designer
Dana Weems
Costume Designer
Rosemarie Fall
Costume Designer
Chris Scheck
Choreography
Advertisement