Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Targets Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Together with [[Performer~P116368~Orson Welles~orsonwelles]]' [[Feature~V9737~Citizen Kane~citizenkane]] and [[Performer~P111663~John Singleton~johnsingleton]]'s [[Feature~V6891~Boyz 'n the Hood~boyznthehood]], director [[Performer~P82288~Peter Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]]'s Targets is among the most impressive first features ever made. When [[Performer~P82288~Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]]'s cinematic mentor [[Performer~P85920~Roger Corman~rogercorman]] suggested that [[Performer~P82288~Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]] might want to make his directorial debut, he offered to "donate" 20 minutes worth of footage of the [[Performer~P85920~Corman~rogercorman]]-directed [[Feature~V49113~The Terror~theterror]] and the services of [[Performer~P36942~Boris Karloff~boriskarloff]], who owed [[Performer~P85920~Corman~rogercorman]] two days' worth of work (at a cost of $22,000). [[Performer~P36942~Karloff~boriskarloff]] became so caught up in the 29-year-old [[Performer~P82288~Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]]'s enthusiasm that he agreed to work an additional two days at a bare-minimum salary. The script, by [[Performer~P82288~Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]] and his then-wife, [[Performer~P106651~Polly Platt~pollyplatt]], was inspired by the 1966 shooting spree of Texas Tower sniper Charles Whitman. [[Performer~P36942~Karloff~boriskarloff]], as Byron Orlock, more or less plays himself: an aging horror star, consigned to low-budget drive-in fare. Unlike the workaholic [[Performer~P36942~Karloff~boriskarloff]], Orlock wants to retire from films, noting that his movies seem inconsequential in light of the real-life horrors occurring every day. As [[Performer~P82288~Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]], playing young-and-hungry director Sammy Michaels, desperately tries to convince Orlock to star in just one more picture, the film's attentions shift to Vietnam veteran Bobby Thompson ([[Performer~P53501~Tim O'Kelly~timokelly]]). An otherwise amiable, normal-looking lad, Bobby seems to harbor an inordinate fascination with guns, particularly high-powered rifles. One bright and sunny morning, Bobby suddenly and unexpectedly shoots and kills his wife, his mother, and an unlucky delivery boy. He leaves behind a note confessing to these crimes, noting that, while he fully expects to be captured, many more will die before the day is over. From this point onward, the film switches from Bobby's day-long bloodbath (from the vantage point of an oil storage tank, calmly picking off passing freeway motorists) to Orlock's grumbling preparations to make a personal appearance at a local drive-in movie. Inevitably, Bobby also shows up at the drive-in, hiding himself behind the huge screen and shooting down the patrons as they sit complacently in their cars, watching the latest Byron Orlock film (actually [[Feature~V49113~The Terror~theterror]], in which [[Performer~P36942~Karloff~boriskarloff]] also starred). Once the reality of the situation sets in, panic ensues, leading to the ultimate confrontation between the escaping Bobby and the bewildered Orlock. ("Is this what I was afraid of?" Orlock ruefully exclaims as Bobby cowers at his feet.) The tension never lets up throughout Targets' jam-packed 90 minutes. The film was virtually thrown away by its distributor, Paramount Pictures, which was uncertain about packaging a film about a sniper in the wake of the [[Performer~P38332~King~martinlutherkingjr]] and [[Performer~P37720~Kennedy~johnfkennedy]] assassinations. Only when it was reissued to college campuses and film societies did Targets begin building up its much-deserved reputation. Though Targets was not, technically, [[Performer~P36942~Boris Karloff~boriskarloff]]'s last film, it serves as a worthy valedictory for this cinematic giant. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:May 15, 1968

Cast

Boris Karloff
as Byron Orlok
Tim O'Kelly
as Bobby Thompson
Nancy Hsueh
as Jenny
James Brown
as Robert Thompson, Sr.
Sandy Baron
as Kip Larkin
Arthur Peterson
as Ed Loughlin
Tanya Morgan
as Ilene Thompson
Mary Jackson
as Mrs. Thompson
Monte Landis
as Marshall Smith
Stafford Morgan
as Gunsmith
Mark Dennis
as Gunsmith
Paul Condylis
as Drive-In Manager
Peter Bogdanovich
as Sammy
James Bowie
Jay Daniel
as Snack Bar Attendant
Dan Ades
as Chauffeur
Diana Ashley
Mike Farrell
as Man in Phone Booth
Geraldine Baron
as Larkin's Girl
Randy Quaid
Gary Kent
as Gas Tank Worker
Frank Marshall
as Ticket Boy
Elaine Partnow

Crew

Peter Bogdanovich
Director
Peter Bogdanovich
Producer
Roger Corman
Producer
Peter Bogdanovich
Screenwriter
Laszlo Kovacs
Cinematographer
Peter Bogdanovich
Editor
Polly Platt
Production Designer
Polly Platt
Costume Designer
Advertisement