Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Tamara Drewe Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P90460~Stephen Frears~stephenfrears]] directed this comedy drama about an ugly duckling who's followed by a handful of suitors after maturing into a sexy swan. Tamara Drewe ([[Performer~P555871~Gemma Arterton~gemmaarterton]]) was born and raised in Ewedown, a quiet community on the outskirts of London dominated by a writer's colony run by Nicholas Hardiment ([[Performer~P948~Roger Allam~rogerallam]]), a best-selling novelist who specializes in crime fiction, and his wife Beth ([[Performer~P330959~Tamsin Greig~tamsingreig]]). When Tamara left Ewedown, she was a plain and awkward teenager, but when she returns home for the first time in years, the locals are surprised to discover that time (and a nose job) have turned her into an attractive and alluring woman, and she's gained a share of money and fame thanks to a successful newspaper column. Tamara has returned to Ewedown after the death of her mother in order to refurbish the family home and put it on the market. Before long, Tamara finds herself pursued by three men from her past -- Andy Cobb ([[Performer~P655574~Luke Evans~lukeevans]]), her former boyfriend who has been hired to help fix up the house; Ben Sergeant ([[Performer~P303046~Dominic Cooper~dominiccooper]]), the swaggering drummer with a local indie rock band flirting with larger success; and Nicholas ([[Performer~P948~Roger Allam~rogerallam]]), who is chronically unfaithful to his wife and sees an opportunity with the neighborhood girl who was infatuated with him in her teens. Tamara Drewe was adapted from the graphic novel of the same name by [[Performer~P111534~Posy Simmonds~posysimmonds]], which was in turn inspired by [[Performer~P310197~Thomas Hardy~thomashardy]]'s novel Far From the Madding Crowd. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:October 8, 2010

Cast

Gemma Arterton
as Tamara Drewe
Roger Allam
as Nicholas Hardiment
Bill Camp
as Glen McCreavy
Dominic Cooper
as Ben Sergeant
Luke Evans
as Andy Cobb
Tamsin Greig
as Beth Hardiment
Jessica Barden
as Jody Long
James Naughtie
as Interviewer
John Bett
as Diggory
Pippa Haywood
as Tess
Susan Wooldridge
as Penny Upminster
Alex Kelly
as Jody's Mum
Emily Bruni
as Caitlin
Patricia Quinn
as Posh Hippy
Joel Fry
as Steve Culley
Lois Winstone
as Fran Redmond

Crew

Stephen Frears
Director
Tracey Seaward
Producer
Paul Trijbits
Producer
Alison Owen
Producer
Posy Simmonds
Book Author
Ben Davis
Cinematographer
Alexandre Desplat
Composer (Music Score)
Mick Audsley
Editor
Alan Macdonald
Production Designer
Faye Ward
Associate Producer
Hannah Farrell
Associate Producer
Sharon Harel
Executive Producer
Christine Langan
Executive Producer
Consolata Boyle
Costume Designer
Nick Gillard
Stunts Coordinator
Penny Eyles
Script Supervisor
Leo Davis
Casting Director
Polly Hope
Production Coordinator
Jonah Coombes
Location Manager
Advertisement