Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Tall Tale Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This ambitious Disney movie uses a remarkable screenplay from [[Performer~P82178~Steven L. Bloom~stevenlbloom]] and [[Performer~P234414~Robert Rodat~robertrodat]] to tell a rollicking tale of America's transition from a close-to-the-land culture of mythic heroes to a corporate world of real estate tycoons. The strong theme about the decline of folk culture is expressed through a series of high octane adventures experienced by 12-year-old Daniel Hackett ([[Performer~P67497~Nick Stahl~nickstahl]]) at the dawn of the 20th century. Daniel's father, Jonas Hackett ([[Performer~P215659~Stephen Lang~stephenlang]]), runs a farm in a place called Paradise Valley, but his land is coveted by a greedy developer, J.P. Stiles ([[Performer~P27245~Scott Glenn~scottglenn]]). Daniel looks longingly at postcards of New York City while growing increasingly skeptical of his father's tales of legendary folk heroes. Then, through a series of incredible adventures, Daniel meets up with the legends that his father has spoken about -- cowboy Pecos Bill ([[Performer~P113376~Patrick Swayze~patrickswayze]]), lumberjack Paul Bunyan ([[Performer~P57054~Oliver Platt~oliverplatt]]), and finally, ex-slave and strongman John Henry ([[Performer~P9014~Roger Aaron Brown~rogeraaronbrown]]). Each of these heroes hooks up with Daniel and becomes involved in an increasingly bitter and boisterous fight against Stiles, whose plans to buy up land threaten the very strength of the folk heroes and the well-being of the common people. Pecos Bill has a horse named Widowmaker and can lasso a tornado. The giant Bunyan is accompanied by his famous blue ox, Babe. At one point, another legend, the cowgirl Calamity Jane ([[Performer~P53463~Catherine O'Hara~catherineohara]]), joins in the adventures. ~ Michael Betzold, Rovi

Cast

Patrick Swayze
as Pecos Bill
Oliver Platt
as Paul Bunyan
Roger Aaron Brown
as John Henry
Nick Stahl
as Daniel Hackett
Scott Glenn
as J.P. Stiles
Sal Jenco
as Big Jim
Darwyn Swalve
as Lumberjack #1
Susan Barnes
as Hag in Alley
Eric Lawson
as Sheriff
Jackie Burch
William H. Macy
Mike Moroff
as Bar Room Bully
Stephen Lang
as Jonas Hackett
Moira Harris
as Sarah Hackett
John Ryan
as Grub
Bert Kramer
as Bronson
Catherine O'Hara
as Calamity Jane
Richard Zobel
as Barkeep
Kevin Brown
as Bettor #1
James Oscar Lee
as Spectator
Jared Harris
as Head Thug Pug
Scott Wilson
as Zeb
Joe Grifasi
as Man in Top Hat

Crew

Lee Cleary
Director
Jeremiah S. Chechik
Director
Tom Schulman
Producer
Joe Roth
Producer
Steven L. Bloom
Screenwriter
Robert Rodat
Screenwriter
Robert Schenkkan
Screenwriter
Janusz Kaminski
Cinematographer
Randy Edelman
Composer (Music Score)
Rob Janiger
Musical Direction/Supervision
Richard Chew
Editor
William Badalato
Production Designer
Eugenio Zanetti
Production Designer
Rick Heinrichs
Art Director
Jim Dultz
Art Director
William Badalato
Co-producer
Bill Badalato
Executive Producer
Greg Papalia
Set Designer
Daniel Maltese
Set Designer
Jerie Kelter
Set Designer
Raymond Stella
Camera Operator
Rex Pierson
Stunts
Richard Epper
Stunts
John-Clay Scott
Stunts
Noon Orsatti
Stunts
Doug Metzger
Stunts
Eddie Yansick
Stunts
Tom Elliott
Stunts
Andy Gill
Stunts
Buck McDancer
Stunts
Cliff McLaughlin
Stunts
Jackie Burch
Casting
Advertisement

Other movies like this