Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Tales From the Script Details

  • Release Date: Jan 10, 2009
  • Rated:
  • Runtime: 1 hr. 45 min.
  • Genres: Documentary

FULL SYNOPSIS

While the director is usually seen as the key creative figure behind a film, it's the screenwriter who writes the story that puts a picture into motion, and 46 noted scenarists offer an inside look at the art and industry politics of working in Hollywood in this documentary. Ranging from Academy Award-winning veterans to budding writers who've just gotten their feet in the door. Tales From the Script gives these artists a chance to talk about the craft of screenwriting, its place in the filmmaking process, and the paradox that while a movie may start with a great script, that doesn't mean that what was written will necessarily show up onscreen. (As [[Performer~P167058~Dennis Palumbo~dennispalumbo]], who wrote [[Feature~V34038~My Favorite Year~myfavoriteyear]], puts it, "Writers are egomaniacs with low self-esteem.") Including exclusive interviews with [[Performer~P91933~William Goldman~williamgoldman]], [[Performer~P86735~Frank Darabont~frankdarabont]], [[Performer~P110362~Paul Schrader~paulschrader]], [[Performer~P85412~Larry Cohen~larrycohen]], [[Performer~P115943~David S. Ward~davidsward]], [[Performer~P111129~Ron Shelton~ronshelton]], and [[Performer~P84225~John Carpenter~johncarpenter]], Tales From the Script received its world premiere at the 2009 Palm Springs International Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 10, 2009

Cast

Crew

Pamela Murphy
Executive Producer
Advertisement