Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Tales From the Golden Age Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Acclaimed Romanian filmmaker [[Performer~P323027~Cristian Mungiu~cristianmungiu]] produced and coordinated this collection of short comic tales, all inspired by local legends regarding the quirky side of life under Communism. In "The Legend of the Official Visit," Inspector Sandu ([[Performer~P697298~Emanuel Pirvu~emanuelpirvu]]) arrives in a small village to be sure all is in readiness for the arrival of a major party figure, even though no one's sure if he intends to actually stop and spend some time there. "The Legend of the Greedy Policeman" concerns Alexa ([[Performer~P477510~Ion Sapdaru~ionsapdaru]]) and his wife ([[Performer~P466484~Virginia Mirea~virginiamirea]]), who have obtained a black-market pig and aren't sure how to slaughter and dress it without calling attention to themselves. In "The Legend of the Party Photographer," a photographer ([[Performer~P639070~Avram Birau~avrambirau]]) must put his retouching skills to work when a picture of [[Performer~P661518~Nicolae Ceausescu~nicolaeceausescu]] is wildly unflattering to the leader. "The Legend of the Air Sellers" follows Crina ([[Performer~P653635~Diana Cavallioti~dianacavallioti]]), a financially embarrassed student, who finds a may to make some fast money with the help of con man Bughi (Radu Iacoban) and some empty bottles. "The Legend of the Chicken Driver" tells the story of a by-the-book truck driver ([[Performer~P522958~Vlad Ivanov~vladivanov]]) who isn't certain what rules apply when the owner of a restaurant ([[Performer~P303717~Tania Popa~taniapopa]]) wants to buy some eggs laid by a chicken in his van. And another party member ([[Performer~P653636~Calin Chirila~calinchirila]]) who insists on following the rules even when he isn't sure what they are is the focus of "The Legend of the Zealous Activist." Early screenings of Tales from the Golden Age featured five of these six chapters, with the order and selection changing from night to night, supposedly in homage to the confusion of life under [[Performer~P661518~Ceausescu~nicolaeceausescu]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 18, 2009

Cast

Alexandru Potocean
as The Secretary ('Legend of the Official Visit')
Teo Corban
as The Mayor ('Legend of the Official Visit')
Avram Birau
as Photographer ('Legend of the Official Photographer')
Ion Sapdaru
as Policeman Alexa ('Legend of the Greedy Policeman')
Virginia Mirea
as Policeman's Wife ('Legend of the Greedy Policeman')
Gabriel Spahiu
as Policeman Best Neighbor ('Legend of the Greedy Policeman'
Vlad Ivanov
as Grigore ('Legend of the Chicken Driver')
Tania Popa
as Camelia ('Legend of the Chicken Driver')
Liliana Mocanu
as Marusia ('Legend of the Chicken Driver')

Crew

Razvan Marculescu
Director
Hanno Hofer
Director
Constantin Popescu
Director
Cristian Mungiu
Director
Ioana Uricaru
Director
Cristian Mungiu
Producer
Oleg Mutu
Producer
Cristian Mungiu
Screenwriter
Alex Sterian
Cinematographer
Oleg Mutu
Cinematographer
Liviu Marghidan
Cinematographer
Laco Jimi
Composer (Music Score)
Hanno Hofer
Composer (Music Score)
Theodora Penciu
Editor
Ioana Uricaru
Editor
Dana Bunescu
Editor
Mihaela Poenaru
Production Designer
Dana Istrate
Production Designer
Ana Ioneci
Costume Designer
Dana Istrate
Costume Designer
Dana Bunescu
Sound/Sound Designer
Anatol Reghintovschi
First Assistant Director
Dana Bunescu
Sound Mixer
Advertisement