Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Tale of Despereaux Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A diminutive mouse strives to make a mammoth change in his troubled kingdom in this adaptation of author [[Performer~P374866~Kate DiCamillo~katedicamillo]]'s Newbery Medal-winning children's book. A long time ago, in the distant kingdom of Dor, a horrible accident broke the heart of the king, left a beautiful princess crestfallen, and filled the townspeople with despair. As the sun disappeared from the sky and the flowers were drained of color, the laughter slowly ceased in this once-magical land. It was into this darkened world that a tiny mouse named Despereaux Tilling was born, and while this virtuous little rodent may have been short in stature, his bravery was ultimately too big for such a small world to contain. An unlikely hero with oversized ears and a discernible wheeze, Despereaux was taken with tales of chivalry, and longed to one day become a noble figure among his people. Sometimes in order to realize their true destiny, heroes must first experience great hardship, however, and when Despereaux fails to adhere to the rigid rules of his society, he is banished from Dor. Later, while exploring the outer realms, the lonely Despereaux is joined by a kindhearted rat named Roscuro. Roscuro, too, has been excommunicated from his homeland, and still cannot stand to look into a mirror lest he be reminded of his painful past. Later, as Despereaux embarks on a treacherous quest to rescue the endangered Princess Pea, Roscuro is set down the path of self-destruction after receiving a painful rejection from his highness. Now, on their way to realizing their extraordinary destinies, these two unlikely heroes will face off against the malevolent leader of the sewer rats, who is plotting revenge on humans from his subterranean kingdom; befriend a common serving girl who longs to become princess; and meet a whole host of colorful characters that they will never forget. [[Performer~P8627~Matthew Broderick~matthewbroderick]], [[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]], [[Performer~P300014~Emma Watson~emmawatson]], and [[Performer~P72400~Tracey Ullman~traceyullman]] lead a powerhouse cast in this animated feature produced by [[Performer~P108980~Gary Ross~garyross]] and [[Performer~P263749~Allison Thomas~allisonthomas]]. Also lending voices to the project are [[Performer~P75144~Sigourney Weaver~sigourneyweaver]], [[Performer~P38699~Kevin Kline~kevinkline]], [[Performer~P72023~Stanley Tucci~stanleytucci]], [[Performer~P44480~William H. Macy~williamhmacy]], and [[Performer~P42805~Christopher Lloyd~christopherlloyd]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:December 19, 2008

Cast

Matthew Broderick
as Despereaux
Robbie Coltrane
as Gregory
Frances Conroy
as Antoinette
Tony Hale
as Furlough
Ciarán Hinds
as Botticelli
Dustin Hoffman
as Roscuro
Richard Jenkins
as Principal
Kevin Kline
as Andre
Frank Langella
as Mayor
Christopher Lloyd
as Hovis
William H. Macy
as Lester
Charles Shaughnessy
as Pietro
Stanley Tucci
as Boldo
Tracey Ullman
as Miggery Sow
Emma Watson
as Princess Pea
Sigourney Weaver
as Narrator

Crew

Rob Stevenhagen
Director
Sam Fell
Director
Gary Ross
Producer
Allison Thomas
Producer
Chris Viscardi
Screen Story
Gary Ross
Screenwriter
Kate DiCamillo
Book Author
Will McRobb
Screen Story
Brad Blackbourn
Cinematographer
Glen Ballard
Songwriter
Kathy Nelson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Mark Solomon
Editor
Tracy Shaw
Co-producer
William Sargent
Executive Producer
Robin Bissell
Executive Producer
Ryan Kavanaugh
Executive Producer
David Lipman
Executive Producer
Debra Zane
Casting
Advertisement