Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Swimmer Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

John Cheever's "misery in suburbia" short stories, brief and to the point, have always proven excellent TV fodder. Director [[Performer~P106165~Frank Perry's~frankperry]] The Swimmer, adapted for the screen by Perry's wife Eleanor, is a rare, and for the most part successful, attempt at offering a Cheever story in feature-length form. Dressed only in swimming trunks throughout the film, [[Performer~P98588~Burt Lancaster~burtlancaster]] plays a wealthy, middle-aged advertising man, embarked on a long and revelatory journey through suburban Connecticut. Lancaster slowly makes his way to his split-level home by travelling from house to house, and from swimming pool to swimming pool. At each stop, Lancaster comes face to face with an incident in his past. Informing [[Performer~P34023~Kim Hunter~kimhunter]] that he once harbored a secret love for her, Lancaster is mildly upset by Hunter's indifference. Elderly [[Performer~P66108~Cornelia Otis Skinner~corneliaotisskinner]] is incensed at Lancaster's intrusion in her backyard and orders him to leave. At the next home, Lancaster tries to seduce the nubile [[Performer~P40273~Janet Landgard~janetlandgard]], who'd once baby-sat for his daughters, but she runs away in horror. And so it goes: as each subsequent suburbanite peels off his self-protective veneer, Lancaster grows more and more disillusioned with what he thought was his ideal lifestyle. The more intensely painful episode is the confrontation between Lancaster and ex-mistress [[Performer~P62111~Janice Rule~janicerule]] (this scene was directed, without credit, by [[Performer~P106775~Sydney Pollack~sydneypollack]]). Thoroughly defeated, the all-but-naked Lancaster laboriously makes his way through the Connecticut woods in a blinding rainstorm, desperately seeking out his own home where he fully expects his "loving" wife and daughters to greet him. Not this time. Dismissed as too self-consciously "arty" at the time of its release, [[Feature~V120116~The Swimmer~plovets]]'s reputation increased over the decades following its release thanks to constant late-night TV exposure. The film represents the first movie work of 22-year-old composer [[Performer~P93262~Marvin Hamlisch~marvinhamlisch]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:May 15, 1968

Cast

Burt Lancaster
as Ned
Janet Landgard
as Julie
Janice Rule
as Shirley
Diana Van Der Vlis
as Westerhazy
Tony Bickley
as Westerhazy
Marge Champion
as Forsburgh
Richard McMurray
as Forsburgh
Nancy Cushman
as Mrs. Halloran
House Jameson
as Mr. Halloran
Kim Hunter
as Betty Graham
Charles Drake
as Graham
Louise Troy
as Grace Biswanger
Dolph Sweet
as Henry Biswanger
Bernie Hamilton
as Chauffeur
Michael Kearney
as Gilmartin
Diana Muldaur
as Cynthia
Keri Oleson
as Vernon
Joan Rivers
as Joan
Bill Fiore
as Howie Hunsacker
John Gerstad
as Guest at the Biswangers' Pool
Rose Gregorio
as Sylvia Finney
Ray Mason
as Biswangers' Party Guest

Crew

Frank Perry
Director
Frank Perry
Producer
Eleanor Perry
Screenwriter
John Cheever
Screen Story
Michael Nebbia
Cinematographer
Marvin Hamlisch
Composer (Music Score)
Carl Lerner
Editor
Peter Dohanos
Art Director
Michael Hertzberg
First Assistant Director
John Jiras
Makeup
Advertisement