Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sweetheart of Sigma Chi Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This musical is a remake of a 1933 film. Like the first, it is set on campus and chronicles the romantic travails of the school rowing champion who has recently come back from a military stint abroad. A young coed is mighty pleased to see him, but he keeps avoiding her. A subplot concerns a group of crooks who are trying to fix a boat race. Songs include: "Sweetheart of Sigma Chi" (F. Dudleigh Vernon, Byron D. Stokes), "Penthouse Serenade" ([[Performer~P95914~Will Jason~willjason]], [[Performer~P83667~Val Burton~valburton]], sung by [[Performer~P59384~Phil Regan~philregan]]), "It's Not I'm Such a Wolf, It's Just You're Such a Lamb" (Merle Maddern, Lanier Darwin, sung by [[Performer~P207248~Phil Brito~philbrito]]), "And Then It's Heaven" ([[Performer~P174162~Edward Seiler~eddieseiler]], [[Performer~P174161~Sol Marcus~solmarcus]], [[Performer~P186081~Al Kaufman~alkaufman]], sung by Brito), "Cement Mixer" ([[Performer~P90844~Slim Gaillard~slimgaillard]], Lee Ricks, sung by Gaillard), "Yeproc-Heresi" (Gaillard, sung by Gaillard), "Bach Meets Carle" (a Bach pastiche by [[Performer~P10934~Frankie Carle~frankiecarle]]), and "Five Minutes More" ([[Performer~P113151~Jule Styne~julestyne]], [[Performer~P83819~Sammy Cahn~sammycahn]], sung by Brito). ~ Sandra Brennan, Rovi

Cast

Ruth Allen
as Ruth
Edward S. Brophy
as Arty
Fred Colby
as Bill Ryan
Ann Gillis
as Sue
Paul Guilfoyle
as Frankie
Alan Hale, Jr.
as Mike Mitchell
Ross Hunter
as Ted Sloan
Elyse Knox
as Betty Allen
Emmett Vogan
as Emmett
Phil Regan
as Lucky Ryan

Crew

Jeffrey Bernard
Producer
Michel Jacoby
Screenwriter
George Waggner
Screen Story
Edward Kay
Composer (Music Score)
Edward Kay
Musical Direction/Supervision
William Austin
Editor
Advertisement