Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sweet Bird of Youth Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Previously filmed in 1962 with [[Performer~P54660~Geraldine Page~geraldinepage]] and [[Performer~P104390~Paul Newman~paulnewman]] in the leads, [[Performer~P156728~Tennessee Williams'~williamwilliamson]] Sweet Bird of Youth was restaged for television in 1989 by [[Performer~P108672~Nicolas Roeg~nicolasroeg]]. [[Performer~P70015~Elizabeth Taylor~elizabethtaylor]] stars as Alexandre Del Lago, a fading, alcoholic, drug-dependent movie star. [[Performer~P30474~Mark Harmon~markharmon]] co-stars as Chance Wayne, a shiftless would-be actor who romances Alexandre in hopes of getting a few producer's doors opened for him in Hollywood. Assuming that it'll be a simple task to unload Alexandre when he's through with her, Chance has not reckoned with the star's smothering ego. Chance must also contend with Tom Finley ([[Performer~P114388~Rip Torn~riptorn]]), the fire-breathing political boss who is the father of Chance's hometown sweetheart ([[Performer~P55026~Cheryl Paris~cherylparis]]). The TV remake of Sweet Bird of Youth was first broadcast October 1, 1989. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement