Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Swarm Details


Killer bees migrate to the United States from Africa via South America in this disaster film produced and directed by the genre's chief architect, Irwin Allen, and written by Stirling Silliphant, scribe of The Poseidon Adventure. Haughty entomologist Brad Crane (Michael Caine) shows up at a secret military base full of dead soldiers, shocking the attendant General Slater (Richard Widmark). Crane announces that the soldiers are the victims of killer bees with amazingly potent venom; he's been tracking huge swarms of the things and fears they'll kill millions before they're through. Eventually, the president asks Crane to lead the battle against the killer insects and he assembles a team of crack scientists. Meanwhile, the bees overpower a family picnic in nearby Marysville; only the son, Paul (Christian Juttner), escapes with his life. Crane and military physician Helena Anderson (Katherine Ross) head to Marysville to warn the populace about the impending danger. Among the citizens in the direct path of the bees are schoolmarm Maureen Schuster (Olivia de Havilland) and her competing suitors, Felix (Ben Johnson) and Clarence (Fred MacMurray). Eventually, the bees stage a massacre in Marysville and then set their sights on Houston. Neither pesticides, firebombing, nor the heroic sacrifice of scientist Dr. Krim (Henry Fonda) seems to offer a solution for the impending disaster. Universally reviled by critics, The Swarm failed to continue Allen's winning streak at the box office. Caine would re-team with his director the following year for Beyond the Poseidon Adventure. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:July 14, 1978


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Paul Zastupnevich Best Costume Design 1978 Nominee


Michael Caine
as Brad Crane
Katharine Ross
as Helena
Richard Widmark
as Gen. Slater
Richard Chamberlain
as Dr. Hubbard
Olivia de Havilland
as Maureen Schuster
Ben Johnson
as Felix
Lee Grant
as Anne MacGregor
José Ferrer
as Dr. Andrews
Slim Pickens
as Jud Hawkins
Bradford Dillman
as Maj. Baker
Fred MacMurray
as Clarence
Henry Fonda
as Dr. Krim
Cameron Mitchell
as Gen. Thompson
Christian Juttner
as Paul Durant
Morgan Paull
as Dr. Newman
Alejandro Rey
as Dr. Martinez
Don "Red" Barry
as Pete Harris
Steven Marlo
as 1st Pilot
John Furlong
as Cameraman
Arthur Space
as Engineer
Arell Blanton
as Sergeant
Patty Duke
as Rita Bard
Doria Cook
as Mrs. Durant
Chris Petersen
as Hal
Trent Dolan
as Radio Sergeant
John Williams
as Launching Officer
Robert Varney
as Mr. Durant
Howard Culver
as Airman #2
Steve Powers
as Radarmen
Marcia Nicholson
as Captain
Michael Sheehan
as Airman #1
Bill Snider
as Radarman #2


Irwin Allen
Irwin Allen
Stirling Silliphant
Fred Koenekamp
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Harold Kress
Stan Jolley
Production Designer
Paul Zastupnevich
Costume Designer
Arthur Piantadosi
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Minkler
Sound/Sound Designer
Les Fresholtz
Sound/Sound Designer
Herman Lewis
Sound/Sound Designer
Paul Stader
Jack Baur
Skip Surguine
Second Assistant Director
Ralph Aubert
Properties Master
John Monte
Still Photographer
Paul Stader
Stunts Coordinator
Donah Bassett
Negative Cutter
Ed Morey III
First Assistant Camera
Julie Pitkanen
Script Supervisor
Fred Hesper
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Timothy Board
First Assistant Editor
Gene Stout
Art Volpert
Production Controller
Ruby Ford
Hair Styles