Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Surviving Progress Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

As humanity basks in the glow of a century of unprecedented technological progress in the early years of the 21st century, a growing number of scientists wonder if we're really as well off as we imagine. While the world has a remarkable range of products and services at its disposal, we also have a dwindling supply of un-renewable natural resources, an environment damaged by global warming, a faltering global economy, and large parts of the world are demanding a First World standard of living while the nations that created it are struggling to keep their heads above water. Has the world become a victim of its own desire for progress? Filmmakers [[Performer~P660892~Mathieu Roy~mathieuroy]] and [[Performer~P201497~Harold Crooks~haroldcrooks]] examine the price we are paying for years of short-term advancement with little thought of long-term consequences in the documentary Surviving Progress. Featuring interviews with [[Performer~P93750~Stephen Hawking~stephenhawking]], [[Performer~P27647~Jane Goodall~janegoodall]], David Suzuki, [[Performer~P315521~Margaret Atwood~margaretatwood]], [[Performer~P714732~Jim Thomas~jimthomas]] and many more, Surviving Progress offers a sobering look at how unchecked science and economics have taken the world down a dangerous path, and what can be done to create a more sustainable future. Adapted from [[Performer~P714735~Ronald Wright~ronaldwright]]'s book A Short History of Progress, Surviving Progress was an official selection at the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:April 6, 2011

Crew

Daniel Louis
Producer
Denise Robert
Producer
Gerry Flahive
Producer
Harold Crooks
Screenwriter
Mario Janelle
Cinematographer
Louis-Martin Paradis
Editor
Betsy Carson
Executive Producer
Silva Basmajian
Executive Producer
Mark Achbar
Executive Producer
Martin Scorsese
Executive Producer
Marcel Chouinard
Sound Recordist
Mark Achbar
Additional Cinematography
Claude La Haye
Sound Recordist
Philippe Scultety
Sound Recordist
Louis Piche
Sound Recordist
Harold Crooks
Co-Director
Dany Racine
Additional Cinematography
Joao Godoy
Sound Recordist
Advertisement