Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Superstar in a Housedress: The Life and Legend of Jackie Curtis Details

  • Release Date: May 05, 2004
  • Runtime: 1 hr. 35 min.
  • Genres: Biography, Culture & Society, Gender Issues
  • Director:Craig Highberger
  • Cast:Lily Tomlin.

FULL SYNOPSIS

Directed by [[Performer~P399399~Craig B. Highberger~craighighberger]] and narrated by [[Performer~P114336~Lily Tomlin~lilytomlin]], Superstar in a Housedress offers a unique retrospective of the late avant-garde actor and female impersonator [[Performer~P123819~Jackie Curtis~jackiecurtis]], who was discovered in the 1960s by experimental filmmaker [[Performer~P115970~Andy Warhol~andywarhol]]. In addition to rare clips of [[Performer~P123819~Curtis~jackiecurtis]] in various underground stage productions, the documentary is supplemented by a surprising amount of never-before-seen archival footage, scenes from [[Feature~V134513~Women in Revolt~womeninrevolt]] and [[Feature~V17767~Flesh~flesh]], and candid stories about [[Performer~P123819~Curtis~jackiecurtis]] from those who knew her best in her heyday. Among the interviewees are [[Performer~P16668~Joe Dallesandro~joedallesandro]], [[Performer~P103597~Paul Morrissey~paulmorrissey]], [[Performer~P77393~Holly Woodlawn~hollywoodlawn]], and [[Performer~P2086~Penny Arcade~pennyarcade]]. ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

  • Release date:May 5, 2004

Cast

Lily Tomlin
as Narrator

Crew

Craig Highberger
Director
Craig Highberger
Producer
Andrew LaBarbera
Producer
Craig Highberger
Screenwriter
Craig Highberger
Cinematographer
Paul Serrato
Composer (Music Score)
Craig Highberger
Editor
Joey Preston
Associate Producer
Advertisement