Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Superman II Details


Between giving up his super powers, confronting criminals from outer space, and having problems with his girlfriend, it's a bad time to be the Man of Steel in this sequel to the 1978 blockbuster. When terrorists threaten to destroy Paris with a thermonuclear device as they hold reporter Lois Lane (Margot Kidder) hostage, Superman (Christopher Reeve) comes to the rescue and flings the weapon into space. However, its blast outside the earth's orbit awakens Zod (Terence Stamp), Ursa (Sarah Douglas), and Non (Jack O'Halloran), three villains from Superman's home planet of Krypton who were exiled to outer space for their crimes. Zod and his partners arrive on Earth and use their powers in a bid to take over the U.S., and then the world. However, when Lois realizes that mild mannered Clark Kent and Superman are actually the same person, he brings her to his Fortress of Solitude, where his decision to marry Lois costs him his remarkable strength. Without his super powers, how can Superman vanquish Zod and save the world? Gene Hackman, Ned Beatty, Susannah York, and Jackie Cooper return from the first film, which was shot at the same time as parts of the sequel. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 19, 1980


Christopher Reeve
as Clark Kent/Superman
Gene Hackman
as Lex Luthor
Margot Kidder
as Lois Lane
Ned Beatty
as Otis
Jackie Cooper
as Dino/Perry White
Terence Stamp
as Gen. Zod
Sarah Douglas
as Ursa
Jack O'Halloran
as Non
Valerie Perrine
as Eve Teschmacher
Susannah York
as Lara
Clifton James
as Sheriff
Marc McClure
as Jimmy Olsen
E.G. Marshall
as President
John Ratzenberger
as Controller
Elva Mai Hoover
as Mother
Tony Sibbald
as Presidential Imposter
Anthony Milner
as Terrorist
Gordon Rollings
as Fisherman
Robin Pappas
as Alice
Angus MacInnes
as Warden
Melissa Wiltsie
as Nun
Pamela Mandell
as Waitress
Tommy Duggan
as Diner Owner
Marc Boyle
as C.R.S. Man
Leueen Willoughby
as Leueen
Roger Brierley
as Terrorist
Dinny Powell
as Boog
Bill Bailey
as J.J.
Eugene Lipinski
as News Vendor
Peter Whitman
as Deputy
Don Fellows
as General
Antony Sher
as Bellboy
Pepper Martin
as Rocky
Hal Galili
as Man at Bar
Roger Kemp
as Spokesman
Michael J. Shannon
as President's Aide
Beth Porter
as Football Fan (uncredited)
Shane Rimmer
as Controller
Hadley Kay
as Jason
Richard Griffiths
as Terrorist


Richard Lester
Alexander Salkind
Pierre Spengler
Ilya Salkind
David Newman
Mario Puzo
Mario Puzo
Screen Story
Leslie Newman
Geoffrey Unsworth
Ken Thorne
Composer (Music Score)
John Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Stuart Baird
Harry Lange
Production Designer
Peter Murton
Production Designer
Maurice Fowler
Art Director
Ilya Salkind
Executive Producer
Yvonne Blake
Costume Designer
Sue Yelland
Costume Designer
Zoran Perisic
Special Effects
Colin Chilvers
Special Effects
Roy Field
Special Effects
Dusty Symonds
First Assistant Director
Tom Mankiewicz
Roy Charman
Sound Mixer
Vincent Winter
Production Manager
Roy Field
Special Effects Supervisor
Ken Thorne
Stuart Freeborn
Colin Chilvers
Special Effects Supervisor
David Tomblin
Second Unit Director