Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sunrise at Campobello Details


One of only two theatrical features by television director Vincent J. Donahue, Sunrise at Campobello is a biography of President Franklin D. Roosevelt that attempts to illustrate the statesman's courageous battle against infantile paralysis and his political foes. While in the prime of his life, Roosevelt (Ralph Bellamy) is stricken with a debilitating illness that threatens to end his career. Fortunately, his wife, Eleanor (Greer Garson), faithfully helps him regain his strength and become one of America's most influential and beloved Commanders in Chief. Hume Cronyn also stars as F.D.R.'s political strategist Louis Howe, who forms a successful triumvirate with the Roosevelts. For her performance, Greer Garson received a Best Actress nomination at the 1961 Academy Awards. ~ Matthew Tobey, Rovi

  • Release date:September 28, 1960


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Marjorie Best Best Color Costume Design 1960 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Greer Garson Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1960 Winner
National Board of Review Greer Garson Best Actress 1960 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Greer Garson Best Actress 1960 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Edward Carrere Best Color Art Direction 1960 Nominee


Ralph Bellamy
as Franklin D. Roosevelt
Greer Garson
as Eleanor Roosevelt
Hume Cronyn
as Louis Howe
Jean Hagen
as Missy Le Hand
Ann Shoemaker
as Sara Roosevelt
Tim Considine
as James Roosevelt
Zina Bethune
as Anna Roosevelt
Frank Ferguson
as Dr. Bennett
Pat Close
as Elliot Roosevelt
Robin Warga
as Franklin D. Roosevelt
Lyle Talbot
as Mr. Brimmer
Janine Grandel
as Marie
Otis Greene
as Edward
Ivan Browning
as Charles
Fern Barry
Mary Benoit
Donald Dillaway
as Sloan
Jack Perrin
as Campaign Worker
Ed Prentiss
as Barker
Craig Curtis
as Newsboy
Walter Sande
as Capt. Skinner
Craig Curtis
as Newsboy
Ed Prentiss
as Barker
Jack Perrin
as Campaign Worker
Donald Dillaway
as Sloan


Dore Schary
Dore Schary
Russell Harlan
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
George Boemler
Edward Carrere
Art Director
Marjorie Best
Costume Designer