Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sunday in New York Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Playwright [[Performer~P98079~Norman Krasna~normankrasna]] adapted his hit Broadway sex farce for the screen under the direction of [[Performer~P113910~Peter Tewksbury~petertewksbury]]. Adam Tyler ([[Performer~P108502~Cliff Robertson~cliffrobertson]]) is an airline pilot who rents a pricey Manhattan apartment and has the weekend off. His prim sister Eileen ([[Performer~P24098~Jane Fonda~janefonda]]), shows up to visit, complaining that her fiancée Russ (Robert Culp), is pressuring her to have premarital sex, threatening to break up their engagement if she doesn't comply. Adam tells his sister that she is right to resist, that men want to marry women who are virgins, then he leaves with plans to meet his lover, Mona Harris (Jo Morrow), in another city. Left alone, Eileen finds women's lingerie in her brother's closet and realizes that he has a double standard. She leaves, upset. While on a bus, she meets a man named Mike ([[Performer~P70089~Rod Taylor~rodtaylor]]). They spend the day sightseeing, fall in love, and return to the apartment after a rainstorm drenches their clothes. Russ and Adam later arrive at the apartment at different intervals. Russ mistakenly believes that Eileen has cheated on him, so he storms out, leaving Eileen with her new love and Adam with plans to marry Jo. [[Performer~P3156~Jim Backus~jimbackus]] has a minor role as a flight dispatcher. Musician [[Performer~P52263~Peter Nero~peternero]], who scored the film, appears in a cameo. ~ Michael Betzold, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Peter Nero Best Original Song 1964 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Carroll Coates Best Original Song 1964 Nominee

Cast

Rod Taylor
as Mike Mitchell
Jane Fonda
as Eileen Tyler
Cliff Robertson
as Adam Tyler
Robert Culp
as Russ Wilson
Jim Backus
as Flight Dispatcher
Jo Morrow
as Mona Harris
Peter Nero
as Himself

Crew

Norman Krasna
Play Author
Norman Krasna
Screenwriter
Leo Tover
Cinematographer
Robert Armbruster
Musical Direction/Supervision
Peter Nero
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Nero
Songwriter
Roland Everett
Songwriter
Carroll Coates
Songwriter
Frederic Steinkamp
Editor
Edward C. Carfagno
Art Director
George W. Davis
Art Director
Henry W. Grace
Set Designer
George R. Nelson
Set Designer
Orry-Kelly
Costume Designer
John Truwe
Makeup
William J. Tuttle
Makeup
Advertisement