Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sun Valley Serenade Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Skating star [[Performer~P31764~Sonja Henie~sonjahenie]] and the Glenn Miller Orchestra share the spotlight in Sun Valley Serenade. Henie plays a Norwegian refugee adopted by band pianist [[Performer~P219974~John Payne~johnpayne]], who mistakenly thought that the full-grown Miss Henie was a 10-year-old little girl. Payne's girlfriend, [[Performer~P3924~Lynn Bari~lynnbari]], is a soloist with the Miller band, and also a violently jealous sort. When Bari quits Miller out of pique, Henie stages an elaborate ice show as a substitute. This impromptu spectacular thrills the audience at the Sun Valley resort hotel where most of the action takes place. [[Performer~P17366~Joan Davis~joandavis]] and [[Performer~P81579~Milton Berle~miltonberle]] provide comic relief to the music and romance (you haven't lived until you've seen Berle on skis), while [[Performer~P52530~The Nicholas Brothers~thenicholasbrothers]] and [[Performer~P16799~Dorothy Dandridge~dorothydandridge]] perform a lively chorus of "Chattanooga Choo Choo." ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 29, 1941

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Harry Warren Best Song 1941 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Mack Gordon Best Song 1941 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Edward J. Cronjager Best Black and White Cinematography 1941 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Emil Newman Best Score 1941 Nominee

Cast

Sonja Henie
as Karen Benson
John Payne
as Ted Scott
Glenn Miller
as Phil Carey
Milton Berle
as Nifty Allen
Lynn Bari
as Vivian Dawn
Joan Davis
as Miss Carstairs
The Nicholas Brothers
as Themselves
Dorothy Dandridge
as Vocalist
Almira Sessions
as Nurse
Forbes Murray
as Headwaiter
Ralph Dunn
as Customs Officer
Chester Clute
as Process Server
Billy May
Eddie Kane
as Man
Lynne Roberts
as Receptionist
Ralph Sanford
as Doorman
Edward Earle
as Telephone Operator
William Forrest
as Husband
Fred "Snowflake" Toones
as Porter
Sheila Ryan
as Telephone Operator
Spec O'Donnell
as Western Union Boy
John Miller
as Sleigh Driver
Tex Beneke
William B. Davidson
as Jack Murray
Willie Schwarz
Dora Clement
as Wife
Ann Doran
as Waitress

Crew

H. Bruce Humberstone
Director
Milton Sperling
Producer
Helen Logan
Screenwriter
Art Arthur
Screenwriter
Robert Harari
Screenwriter
Edward J. Cronjager
Cinematographer
Emil Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Emil Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Harry Warren
Composer (Music Score)
Harry Warren
Songwriter
Mack Gordon
Songwriter
Joe Garland
Songwriter
Andy Razaf
Songwriter
James B. Clark
Editor
Richard Day
Art Director
Hermes Pan
Choreography
Advertisement