Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Summer Stock Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Summer Stock represented [[Performer~P25962~Judy Garland's~judygarland]] swan song at MGM. Garland plays the owner of a New England farm which entrepreneur [[Performer~P97107~Gene Kelly~genekelly]] hopes to convert into a summer theatre. [[Performer~P17761~Gloria DeHaven~gloriadehaven]], a member of Kelly's troupe, also happens to be Garland's sister. Aware that the farm is having financial difficulties, DeHaven talks the recalcitrant Garland into allowing the troupe to set up shop in the barn. All sorts of romances wind their way through the summer air as Kelly mounts his production. In the long-anticipated finale, Garland herself steps into the leading-lady slot vacated by her petulant sister DeHaven, and of course the show is a smasheroo. To watch Garland joyfully perform such numbers as "Friendly Star," "If You Feel Like Singing, Sing," and her legendary "drag" specialty "Get Happy," you'd never suspect that she was on the verge of a nervous breakdown (the film opened while Garland was recovering from a suicide attempt). Adding to the overall exuberance of Summer Stock are such dependable supporting players as [[Performer~P7894~Eddie Bracken~eddiebracken]], [[Performer~P65703~Phil Silvers~philsilvers]], [[Performer~P44693~Marjorie Main~marjoriemain]] and [[Performer~P14584~Hans Conried~hansconried]] (cast as the troupe's resident romantic baritone!) ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Judy Garland
as Jane Falbury
Gene Kelly
as Joe D. Ross
Eddie Bracken
as Orville Wingait
Gloria de Haven
as Abigail Falbury
Marjorie Main
as Esme
Phil Silvers
as Herb Blake
Ray Collins
as Jasper G. Wingait
Carleton Carpenter
as Artie
Hans Conried
as Harrison I. Keath
Deanna Durbin
Henry Sylvester
Jack Gargan
as Clerk
Jeanne Coyne
Jimmy Thompson
Michael Chapin
Reginald Simpson
as Producer
Bette Arlen
Bunny Waters
as Showgirl
Carol Haney
Albert Ruiz
as Members of Stock Company
Don Powell
Dorothy Tuttle
Eddie Dunn
as Sheriff
Elynne Ray
Erville Alderson
as Zeb
Frank Pharr
as Townsman
Almira Sessions
as Constance Fliggerton
Paul E. Burns
as Frank

Crew

Charles Walters
Director
Joe Pasternak
Producer
Sy Gomberg
Book Author
Sy Gomberg
Screenwriter
Robert Planck
Cinematographer
Harold Arlen
Songwriter
Johnny Green
Musical Direction/Supervision
Saul Chaplin
Musical Direction/Supervision
Saul Chaplin
Songwriter
Mack Gordon
From Musical by
Mack Gordon
Songwriter
Harry Warren
Composer (Music Score)
Albert Akst
Editor
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Walter Plunkett
Costume Designer
Helen Rose
Costume Designer
Gene Kelly
Choreography
Nick Castle
Choreography
Charles Walters
Choreography
Advertisement