Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Sum of All Fears Details


The successful franchise of Paramount motion pictures based on novelist Tom Clancy's techno-thrillers featuring heroic CIA intelligence analyst Jack Ryan stages a much-publicized "do-over" with this action-adventure that recasts the character of Ryan as a rookie to the complex game of geopolitical warfare. Ben Affleck takes the reins from Harrison Ford as Ryan, a greenhorn CIA historian and analyst who finds himself thrust front and center into the spy community's spotlight when Nemerov (Ciaran Hinds), a Russian politician on whom Ryan is an expert, suddenly becomes the leader of the former Soviet Union upon the current president's unexpected demise. Attached to the director of the CIA, Cabot (Morgan Freeman), Ryan insists -- contrary to the opinions of many high-ranking White House officials -- that Nemerov is not a warmonger. Meanwhile, a cadre of neo-fascists, led by Dressler (Alan Bates), plots the detonation at the Super Bowl in Baltimore, MD, of a nuclear device recovered from a long-ago Israeli fighter jet crash, a terrorist incident they intend to spark a war between the super powers, leaving them to conquer the world in the conflict's post-apocalyptic vacuum. The Sum of All Fears co-stars James Cromwell, Bridget Moynahan, and Liev Schreiber as covert operative John Clark, a character central to another series of Clancy's best-selling tomes. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:May 31, 2002


Ben Affleck
as Jack Ryan
Morgan Freeman
as William Cabot
James Cromwell
as President Fowler
Liev Schreiber
as John Clark
Alan Bates
as Richard Dressler
Philip Baker Hall
as Defense Secretary Becker
Ron Rifkin
as Secretary of State Owens
Bruce McGill
as National Security Advisor Revell
Ciarán Hinds
as President Nemerov
Bridget Moynahan
as Dr. Cathy Muller
Colm Feore
as Olson
Josef Sommer
as Senator Jessup
Ken Jenkins
as Admiral Pollack
Michael Byrne
as Anatoli Grushkov
John Beasley
as General Lasseter
Jamie Harrold
as Dillon
Marie Matiko
Sven Ole Thorsen
as Haft


Phil Alden Robinson
Mace Neufeld
Paul Attanasio
Daniel Pyne
Tom Clancy
Book Author
John Lindley
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Neil Travis
Nicolas de Toth
Jeannine Oppewall
Production Designer
Claude Pare
Art Director
Andrew Neskoromny
Art Director
Isabelle Guay
Art Director
Michele Laliberte
Art Director
Martin Gendron
Art Director
Stratton Leopold
Executive Producer
Tom Clancy
Executive Producer
Rick Shean
Set Designer
Celine Lampron
Set Designer
Raynald Langelier
Set Designer
Jean-Pierre Lavoie
Set Designer
Cindy Carr
Set Designer
Charlotte Rouleau
Set Designer
Claude Lafrance
Set Designer
Marie-Sylvie Deveau
Costume Designer
Tim Walston
Sound/Sound Designer
Patrick Rousseau
Sound/Sound Designer
Tom Walston
Sound/Sound Designer
David Sardi
First Assistant Director
Mindy Marin
Glenn Neufeld
Visual Effects Supervisor
Terry J. Leonard
Additional Cinematography
Francine Gagnon