Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Sugar Town Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Ten years after [[Performer~P79587~Allison Anders~allisonanders]] and [[Performer~P115622~Kurt Voss~kurtvoss]] collaborated on [[Feature~V6706~Border Radio~borderradio]], a gritty and evocative look at life along the margins of the L.A. punk rock scene, the two have reunited for another look at the California music biz, this time aiming their sights considerably higher up the ladder. Sugar Town follows the interconnected lives of a handful of power brokers, wanna-bes and has-beens. Gwen ([[Performer~P267749~Jade Gordon~jadegordon]]), a self-centered would-be rock star who will do anything to further her career, is working as an assistant to production designer Liz ([[Performer~P65029~Ally Sheedy~allysheedy]]), but when Gwen discovers Liz has a date with famous producer Burt ([[Performer~P504030~Larry Klein~larryklein]]), any loyalty she has to her boss immediately goes out the window. Burt's latest project is a comeback attempt from three aging Brit-rockers, Nick ([[Performer~P18727~Michael Des Barres~michaeldesbarres]]), Clive ([[Performer~P113761~John Taylor~johntaylor]]), and Jonesy ([[Performer~P37620~Martin Kemp~martinkemp]]). Clive is married to Eva ([[Performer~P2417~Rosanna Arquette~rosannaarquette]]), an actress and one-time sex symbol depressed over her latest job offer -- playing [[Performer~P59916~Christina Ricci~christinaricci]]'s mom. Nick has a dilemma of his own -- the band is strapped for cash, and Jane ([[Performer~P16443~Beverly D'Angelo~beverlydangelo]]), a potential investor, will write them a check only in exchange for sex with Nick... who unfortunately is only attracted to teenage girls. On the other side of town, Carl ([[Performer~P223087~John Doe~johndoe]]) is a session musician with a pregnant wife ([[Performer~P35478~Lucinda Jenney~lucindajenney]]), a flock of kids to support and bills to pay. When he's offered a spot in the touring band of a popular Latina singer, Rosio ([[Performer~P11887~Lumi Cavazos~lumicavazos]]), Carl is torn -- his wife wants him to take the job, but Carl knows Rosio wants him for sex as much as music. Sugar Town, which premiered at the 1999 Sundance Film Festival, is authentically cast with many real-life rock musicians, including Doe (a member of L.A. punk legends X, and co-star of Border Radio), Taylor (from [[Performer~P208184~Duran Duran~davedurand]]), Kemp (ex-Spandau Ballet), Des Barres (who has sung with [[Performer~P65666~Silverhead~gailsilver]], Chequered Past and The Power Station) and Klein (a bassist and producer who's worked with [[Performer~P90813~Peter Gabriel~petergabriel]] and [[Performer~P49683~Joni Mitchell~jonimitchell]]). ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 17, 1999

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Jade Gordon Best Debut Performance 1999 Nominee

Crew

Allison Anders
Director
Kurt Voss
Director
Daniel Hassid
Producer
Kurt Voss
Screenwriter
Allison Anders
Screenwriter
Kristian Bernier
Cinematographer
Chris Figler
Editor
Alyssa Coppleman
Production Designer
Nanda Rao
Co-producer
Nancy Griffin
Co-producer
Anita Cabada
Costume Designer
Aletha Rodgers
Sound/Sound Designer
Markus Innocenti
Sound Editor
Advertisement