Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Stranger Wore a Gun Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P206639~Randolph Scott~randolphscott]] makes his 3-D debut in the stereoscopic western Stranger Wore a Gun. This time, [[Performer~P239568~Scott~scott]] plays Jeff Travis, a former spy for Quantrill's Raiders. When he heads to Arizona to start life anew, Travis finds that his reputation has preceded him: crooked Jules Mourret ([[Performer~P44328~George Macready~georgemacready]]) hires him to monitor a series of gold shipments, in preparation for a major robbery. Eventually, Travis falls in love with Shelby Conroy ([[Performer~P75384~Joan Weldon~joanweldon]]), daughter of freight-line operator Jason Conroy ([[Performer~P74948~Pierre Watkin~pierrewatkin]]), and decides to turn honest. That won't be easy: in addition to the surly Mourret, Travis must deal with such formidable movie heavies as [[Performer~P4948~Alfonso Bedoya~alfonsobedoya]], [[Performer~P46149~Lee Marvin~leemarvin]] and [[Performer~P7448~Ernest Borgnine~ernestborgnine]]. Also on hand is [[Performer~P71758~Claire Trevor~clairetrevor]], in a soft-pedalled variation of her role in [[Performer~P208413~John Ford~johnford]]'s [[Feature~V46400~Stagecoach~stagecoach]]. Stranger Wore a Gun was directed by [[Performer~P87228~Andre DeToth~andrédetoth]], whose previous foray into 3D had been the box-office smash [[Feature~V23367~House of Wax~houseofwax]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 15, 1953

Cast

Randolph Scott
as Jeff Travis
Claire Trevor
as Josie Sullivan
Joan Weldon
as Shelby Conroy
George Macready
as Jules Mourret
Alfonso Bedoya
as Degas
Lee Marvin
as Dan Kurth
Ernest Borgnine
as Bull Slager
Pierre Watkin
as Jason Conroy
Clem Bevans
as Jim Martin
Paul Maxey
as Poley
Frank Scannell
as Red Glick
Reed Howes
as Harve Comis
Roscoe Ates
as Milt Hooper
Edward Earle
as Jeb
Guy Wilkerson
as Ike

Crew

André De Toth
Director
Harry Joe Brown
Producer
Kenneth Gamet
Screenwriter
Gene Havlick
Editor
Advertisement