Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Straight Talk Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P105707~Dolly Parton~dollyparton]] and [[Performer~P117297~James Woods~jameswoods]] as the screen's hottest new romantic team? That's only one of several casting surprises in this romantic comedy. Shirlee Kenyon ([[Performer~P105707~Dolly Parton~dollyparton]]) has had enough of life in her small Arkansas town, not to mention her small-minded Arkansas boyfriend Steve ([[Performer~P44538~Michael Madsen~michaelmadsen]]). So she decides to head for the big city of Chicago, where she applies for a job as a receptionist at a talk radio station. However, she arrives at the studios just as the staff are frantically searching for the psychiatrist hired to host a call-in show for people seeking advice with their personal problems. Shirlee is put on the air by mistake, and, while she lacks a degree in psychology, she has common sense to spare, and her no-nonsense advice makes the show a hit. Soon "Doctor Shirlee" is the talk of the town, but reporter Jack Russell ([[Performer~P117297~James Woods~jameswoods]]) senses that she might not be all she's supposed to be. Jack does some investigating and finds out the truth about Shirlee, but by this time the two have met and he's fallen in love with her. Will Jack obey his responsibilities as a journalist, or follow his heart? Straight Talk's supporting cast includes filmmaker [[Performer~P110025~John Sayles~johnsayles]], monologist [[Performer~P92386~Spalding Gray~spaldinggray]], actor and producer [[Performer~P88456~Griffin Dunne~griffindunne]], and future Lois Lane [[Performer~P30976~Teri Hatcher~terihatcher]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:April 3, 1992

Cast

Dolly Parton
as Dr. Shirlee Kenyon
James Woods
as Jack Russell
Griffin Dunne
as Alan Riegert
Jerry Orbach
as Milo Jacoby
Michael Madsen
as Steve Labell
Deirdre O'Connell
as Lily
Charles Fleischer
as Tony
John Sayles
as Guy Girardi
Teri Hatcher
as Janice
Spalding Gray
as Dr. Erdman
Philip Bosco
as Gene Perlman
Keith MacKechnie
as Gordon
Jay Thomas
as Zim Zimmerman
Amy Morton
as Ann
Jane Lynch
as Gladys
John Gegenhuber
as 2nd Waiter
Ron Livingston
as Soldier
James Spinks
as 1st Bartender
Michael Jeffrey Woods
as Photographer
Mary Ann Thebus
as Waitress
Jack Walsh
as Guard
Kate Buddeke
as Tina
Alan Wilder
as Snake Man
Dana Lubotsky
as 2nd Girl
Domenica Cameron-Scorsese
as 1st Girl
Etel Billig
as Thelma
Gilmary Doyle
as 1st Fan
Greg Sobieski
as 2nd Bartender
Lorenzo Clemons
as Mr. Isaacs
Anthony Cannata
as Bud
Michael Oppenheimer
as Maitre D'
Paul Dinello
as Casey
Paula Newsome
as Ellen
Peter Sova
as Cabbie
Ralph Foody
as Desk Clerk
Ray Friedeck
as Mr.Polonsky
Ray Toler
as Man at Strip Joint
Robert Kurcz
as Phil
Robin Eurich
as Bill
Roger Christiansen
as Technical Director
Barnet Kellman
as Director
Scott Benjaminson
as Valet
Becky Wahlstrom
as 3rd Girl
Susan Messing
as Make-up Woman
Susan Philpot
as Librarian
Tom Amandes
as 1st Waiter
Tom Webb
as Newscaster
Tracy Letts
as Sean
Jeff Garlin
as Bob
Irma P. Hall
as Ethel

Crew

Barnet Kellman
Director
Robert Chartoff
Producer
Fred Berner
Producer
Craig Bolotin
Screen Story
Craig Bolotin
Screenwriter
Susan Berman
Screenwriter
Patricia Resnick
Screenwriter
Peter Sova
Cinematographer
Dolly Parton
Composer (Music Score)
Dolly Parton
Songwriter
Glenn Williams
Musical Direction/Supervision
Brad Fiedel
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Tronick
Editor
Jeffrey Townsend
Production Designer
Sandy Gallin
Executive Producer
Carol Baum
Executive Producer
Zvi Howard Rosenman
Executive Producer
Daniel May
Set Designer
Advertisement