Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Storytelling Details


From the controversial director of Happiness comes another dark look at New Jersey, this time broken into two separate stories. The first is a 26-minute segment entitled "Fiction," which highlights the life of Marcus (Leo Fitzpatrick), an aspiring writer who was born with deformities due to cerebral palsy. He unsuccessfully tries to read a new short story to his girlfriend Vi (Selma Blair), and leaves her after the story is similarly dismissed by his fellow students and teacher, Mr. Scott (Robert Wisdom), a black Pulitzer Prize winner. Vi approaches Mr. Scott in a bar one night and agrees to go home with him, recalling a "fictional" account of their experience in the next class. The second segment, titled "Nonfiction," follows Toby Oxman (Paul Giamatti), a thirtysomething sad sack who gets the idea to make a documentary of contemporary suburban teenage life. Looking for subjects, he runs into Scooby (Mark Webber), a disaffected, dim young man who dreams of being a TV star. Scooby's home life is highly dysfunctional, with a strict father (John Goodman), a prim and proper mother (Julie Hagerty), a football player brother (Noah Fleiss), and a younger brother Mikey (Jonathan Osser), who continually chats up the family's put-upon maid Consuelo (Lupe Ontiveros). Consuelo is soon banished from the household due to her involvement with Mikey, becoming an outcast just like Scooby. ~ Jason Clark, Rovi

  • Release date:January 25, 2002


Selma Blair
as Vi
Leo Fitzpatrick
as Marcus
Aleksa Palladino
as Catherine
Robert Wisdom
as Mr. Gary Scott
Noah Fleiss
as Brady Livingston
Paul Giamatti
as Toby Oxman
John Goodman
as Marty Livingston
Julie Hagerty
as Fern Livingston
Lupe Ontiveros
as Consuelo
Franka Potente
as Editor
Mike Schank
as Mike
Mark Webber
as Scooby Livingston
Mary Lynn Rajskub
as Melinda


Todd Solondz
Christine Vachon
Ted Hope
Todd Solondz
Susan Jacobs
Musical Direction/Supervision
Nathan Larson
Composer (Music Score)
Alan Oxman
Michael De Luca
Executive Producer
Amy Henkels
Executive Producer
David Linde
Executive Producer
John Dunn
Costume Designer
Drew Kunin
Sound/Sound Designer
Ann Goulder
Declan Baldwin
Line Producer
Andy Kris
Supervising Sound Editor