Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Steal This Movie Details


Steal This Movie! is a dramatic account of the tumultuous life and times of Abbie Hoffman, one of the most visible and influential figures of America's 1960s counter-culture. (Its title was inspired by Hoffman's irreverent "survival guide," Steal This Book.) Hoffman's founding of the Youth International Party (better known as the "Yippies") and inventive acts of street theater -- including an "exorcism" of the Pentagon and the riotous protests at the 1968 Democratic Convention in Chicago -- made him a household name and a star of the anti-war movement. They also earned him enemies, and he was eventually arrested for trying to sell cocaine to an undercover cop, a bust that he contended was a set-up meant to discredit him. Rather than face a long prison sentence, Hoffman went underground, leaving behind his wife and children and posing as "Barry Freed," who became a respected environmental activist. In time, Freed acknowledged that he was Hoffman, spent two months in jail, and returned to activism full-time until his 1989 death. Steal This Movie stars Vincent D'Onofrio as Hoffman, Janeane Garofalo as his wife Anita, Kevin Corrigan as Jerry Rubin, Troy Garity as Tom Hayden, and Jeanne Tripplehorn as Joanna Lawrenson, who became romantically involved with Barry Freed. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 18, 2000


Vincent D'Onofrio
as Abbie Hoffman
Janeane Garofalo
as Anita Hoffman
Jeanne Tripplehorn
as Johanna Lawrenson
Kevin Pollak
as Gerry Lefcourt
Donal Logue
as Stew Albert
Alan Van Sprang
as David Glenn
Troy Garity
as Tom Hayden
Ingrid Veninger
as Judy Albert
Kevin Corrigan
as Jerry Rubin


Robert Greenwald
Robert Greenwald
Jacobus Rose
Anita Hoffman
Book Author
Bruce Graham
Denis Lenoir
Evyen Klean
Musical Direction/Supervision
Composer (Music Score)
Kimberly Ray
Linda Del Rosario
Production Designer
Richard Paris
Production Designer
Bradley H. Gordon
Gerald Lefcourt
Associate Producer
Ken Christmas
Executive Producer
Vincent D'Onofrio
Executive Producer
Jon Avnet
Executive Producer
Renee Davenport
Set Designer
Sherry McMoran
Costume Designer
Douglas Ganton
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruce Fortune
Sound/Sound Designer
Martin Malivoire
Special Effects
Tony Lucibello
First Assistant Director
Jeanne McCarthy
Bruce Fortune
Sound Editor
Edelgard Pfluegel
Marilyn Terry