Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

State of Play Details


director Kevin McDonald teams with screenwriter Matthew Michael Carnahan for this American adaptation of the hit British miniseries concerning the suspicious circumstances that set a rising congressman and a dogged reporter on a dangerous collision course. U.S. congressman Stephen Collins (Ben Affleck) is handsome, unflappable, and ascending the ladder of power with unprecedented speed. He's the future of his political party, and as the chairman of a committee assigned to oversee defense spending, he's got all the right connections. As the presidential race draws near, Washington insiders begin to speculate that Collins will earn his party's nomination for the country's top job. The prospect of Collins becoming president seems less and less likely, however, when his research assistant/mistress is viciously murdered, and some unsavory truths begin to surface. Collins was once a close friend to Cal McAffrey (Russell Crowe), now a top reporter in the nation's capital. Assigned the task of investigating Collins by his ruthless editor, Cameron (Oscar winner Helen Mirren), McAffrey recruits fellow reporter Della (Rachel McAdams) in order to track down the truth and identify the killer. But McAffrey has just walked into a cover-up of unprecedented proportions, and in a game where billions of dollars are at stake, life, love, and integrity are luxuries that simply cannot be afforded. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 17, 2009


Russell Crowe
as Cal McAffrey
Ben Affleck
as Congressman Stephen Collins
Rachel McAdams
as Della Frye
Helen Mirren
as Cameron Lynne
Robin Wright Penn
as Anne Collins
Jason Bateman
as Dominic Foy
Jeff Daniels
as Senator George Fergus
Michael Berresse
as Michael Bingham
Harry J. Lennix
as Detective Donald Bell
Josh Mostel
as Pete
Michael Weston
as Hank
Barry "Shabaka" Henley
as Gene Stavitz
Viola Davis
as Dr. Judith Franklin
David Harbour
as PointCorp Insider
Sarah Lord
as Mandi
Tuck Milligan
as PointCorp Executive
Stephen Park
as Chris Kawai
Brennan Brown
as Andrew Pell
Maria Thayer
as Sonia Baker
Wendy Makkena
as Greer Thornton
Zoe Lister-Jones
as Jessy
Michael Jace
as Officer Brown
Rob Benedict
as Milt
Ladell Preston
as Deshaun Stagg


Kevin Macdonald
Eric Fellner
Andrew Hauptman
Tim Bevan
Billy Ray
Matthew Michael Carnahan
Tony Gilroy
Rodrigo Prieto
Nick Angel
Musical Direction/Supervision
Alex Heffes
Composer (Music Score)
Justine Wright
Mark Friedberg
Production Designer
Richard L. Johnson
Art Director
Eric Hayes
Kwame Parker
Associate Producer
Liza Chasin
Executive Producer
E. Bennett Walsh
Executive Producer
Paul Abbott
Executive Producer
Debra Hayward
Executive Producer
Jacqueline West
Costume Designer
Cheryl Carasik
Set Decorator
Jay Wilkinson
Sound/Sound Designer
Greg Graham
Avy Kaufman
Jeremy Hays
Special Effects Coordinator
Bob Huberman
Unit Production Manager
E. Bennett Walsh
Unit Production Manager
Anna Rane
Script Supervisor
Marty Bresin
Special Effects Supervisor
Masanobu Takayanagi
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Skip Lievsay
Supervising Sound Editor
Mark Ulano
Production Sound Mixer
Dawn Massaro-Adams
Second Assistant Director
Lisa Lovaas
Costumes Supervisor
Dwayne McLintock
Aerial Photography