Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

State Fair Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Twentieth Century-Fox couldn't make a film version of [[Performer~P108630~Richard Rodgers~richardrodgers]] and [[Performer~P93274~Oscar Hammerstein's~oscarhammersteinii]] [[Feature~V36110~Oklahoma~theoklahoman]] in 1945--that particular Broadway musical would remain a "hot ticket" until the end of the decade--so the studio did the next best thing by hiring Rodgers & Hammerstein to pen the score for the Technicolorful State Fair. Fox had previously made a non-singing movie of Philip Stong's novel in 1933, with [[Performer~P26244~Janet Gaynor~janetgaynor]] and [[Performer~P129720~Will Rogers~willrogers]] in the leads. The musical remake downplayed the older characters in favor of the younger members of the cast. Set during the annual Iowa State Fair, the story concentrates on the Frakes family: father [[Performer~P76958~Charles Winninger~charleswinninger]], mother [[Performer~P3331~Fay Bainter~faybainter]], and grown-up children [[Performer~P15581~Jeanne Crain~jeannecrain]] and [[Performer~P31269~Dick Haymes~dickhaymes]]. Each has his or her own reason for attending the fair: Winninger intends to win the "prize hog" ribbon, Bainter hopes to defeat her longtime snooty rival in the food contest (she wins when the judges get schnockered on the alcohol in her entry), Crain falls in love with fast-talking journalist [[Performer~P1708~Dana Andrews~danaandrews]], and Haymes woos footloose and fancy-free vocalist [[Performer~P6516~Vivian Blaine~vivianblaine]]. Musical highlights include the Oscar-winning "It Might as Well be Spring," "It's a Grand Night for Singing," and the title number. To avoid confusion with the 1962 remake, the 1945 [[Feature~V46706~State Fair~statefair]] was for many years retitled It Happened One Summer for TV showings. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Rodgers Best Song 1945 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Oscar Hammerstein II Best Song 1945 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Charles Henderson Best Score - Musical 1945 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alfred Newman Best Score - Musical 1945 Nominee

Cast

Jeanne Crain
as Margy Frake
Dana Andrews
as Pat Gilberg
Dick Haymes
as Wayne Frake
Vivian Blaine
as Emily Joyce
Charles Winninger
as Abel Frake
Fay Bainter
as Meilissa Frake
Donald Meek
as Hippenstahl
Frank McHugh
as McGee
Percy Kilbride
as Miller
Jane Nigh
as Eleanor
Paul E. Burns
as Hank
Tom Fadden
as Eph
William Frambes
as Pappy
Paul Harvey
as Managing Editor
John Dehner
as Announcer
Harlan Briggs
as Judge
Will Wright
as Judge
Alice Fleming
as Judge
Ralph Sanford
as Police Chief
Frank Mayo
as Man
Almira Sessions
Minerva Urecal
as Woman
Francis Ford
as Mr. Martin
Virginia Brissac
as Farmers' Wife
Wheaton Chambers
as Assistant Judge
Harry Depp
as Secretary to Judge
Josephine Whittell
as Mrs. Metcalfe
Coleen Gray
as Girl
Emory Parnell
as Senator
Margo Woode

Crew

Walter Lang
Director
William Perlberg
Producer
Charles Brackett
Producer
Sonya Levien
Screenwriter
Oscar Hammerstein II
Screenwriter
Leon Shamroy
Cinematographer
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Alfred Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Charles Henderson
Composer (Music Score)
Charles Henderson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Oscar Hammerstein II
Songwriter
Richard Rodgers
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Rodgers
Songwriter
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Al Orenbach
Set Designer
Fred Sersen
Special Effects
Alfred Newman
Conductor
Advertisement