Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones Details


The second prequel to the original trilogy takes place ten years after the events depicted in . Now 20, young Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen) is an apprentice to respected Jedi knight Obi-Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor). Unusually powerful in the Force, Anakin is also impatient, arrogant, and headstrong -- causing his mentor a great deal of concern. The pair are ordered to protect Padme Amidala (Natalie Portman), the former queen of the planet Naboo, now representing her world in the Galactic Senate. Someone is trying to assassinate her on the eve of a vote enabling Supreme Chancellor Palpatine (Ian McDiarmid) to build a military force that will safeguard against a growing separatist movement led by mysterious former Jedi Count Dooku (Christopher Lee). After another attempt on Padme's life, Obi-Wan and Anakin separate. The young Jedi and Padme fall in love as he escorts her first to the security of Naboo and then to his home world of Tatooine, where the fate of his mother leads him to commit an ominous atrocity. Meanwhile, Obi-Wan travels to the secretive planet Kamino and the asteroid-ringed world of Geonosis, following bounty hunter Jango Fett (Temuera Morrison) and his son, Boba (Daniel Logan), who are involved in an operation to create a massive army of clones. A vicious battle ensues between the clones and Jedi on one side and Dooku's droids on the other, but who is really pulling the strings in this galactic conflict? In late 2002, the movie was released in IMAX theaters as Star Wars: Episode II -- Attack of the Clones: The IMAX Experience, with a pared-down running time of 120 minutes in order to meet the technical requirements of the large-screen format. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:May 16, 2002


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Knoll Best Visual Effects 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Pablo Helman Best Visual Effects 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ben Snow Best Visual Effects 2002 Nominee


Ewan McGregor
as Obi-Wan Kenobi
Natalie Portman
as Padmé Amidala
Hayden Christensen
as Anakin Skywalker
Christopher Lee
as Count Dooku
Samuel L. Jackson
as Mace Windu
Frank Oz
as Yoda
Ian McDiarmid
as Supreme Chancellor Palpatine
Pernilla August
as Shmi Skywalker
Temuera Morrison
as Jango Fett
Jimmy Smits
as Bail Organa
Jack Thompson
as Cliegg Lars
Leeanna Walsman
as Zam Wesell
Ahmed Best
as Achk Med-Beq
Ahmed Best
as Jar Jar Binks
Rose Byrne
as Dormé
Oliver Ford Davies
as Sio Bibble
Ron Falk
as Dexter Jettster
Jay Lagai'aia
as Captain Typho
Andrew Secombe
as Watto
Anthony Daniels
as C-3PO
Kenny Baker
as R2-D2
Silas Carson
as Nute Gunray
Silas Carson
as Ki-Adi-Mundi
Daniel Logan
as Boba Fett
Rena Owen
as Taun We
Alethea McGrath
as Jocasta Nu
Claudia Karvan
as Sola Naberrie
Trisha Noble
as Jobal Naberrie
Steve John Shepherd
as Naboo Lieutenant
Anthony Phelan
as Lama Su
Matt Sloan
as Plo Koon
Joel Edgerton
as Owen Lars
Graeme Blundell
as Ruwee Naberrie
David Bowers
as Mas Amedda
Ayesha Dharker
as Ayesha Dharker
Susie Porter
as Hermione Bagwa
Matt Doran
as Elan Sleazebaggano


George Lucas
Rick McCallum
Jonathan Hales
George Lucas
Screen Story
George Lucas
David Tattersall
John Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Ben Burtt
Gavin Bocquet
Production Designer
Peter Russell
Supervising Art Director
Ian Gracie
Art Director
Michelle McGahey
Art Director
Jonathan Lee
Art Director
Fred Hole
Art Director
Phil Harvey
Art Director
George Lucas
Executive Producer
Peter Walpole
Set Designer
Trisha Biggar
Costume Designer
Ben Burtt
Sound/Sound Designer
Paul "Salty" Brincat
Sound/Sound Designer
James McTeigue
First Assistant Director
Robin Gurland
Matthew Wood
Supervising Sound Editor
Pablo Helman
Visual Effects Supervisor
Michael Semanick
Re-Recording Mixer
Ben Burtt
Supervising Sound Editor
Dennis Muren
Visual Effects Supervisor
Peter Walpole
Set Dresser
John Knoll
Visual Effects Supervisor
Gary Rydstrom
Re-Recording Mixer
Nick Gillard
Stunts Coordinator
Ben Snow
Visual Effects Supervisor
Giles Nuttgens
Additional Cinematography
Rick Kline
Re-Recording Mixer