Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Star Trek Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Feature~V286671~Mission: Impossible III~mission:impossibleiii]] director and [[Feature~V255661~Alias~alias[tvseries]]] creator [[Performer~P240910~J.J. Abrams~jjabrams]] resurrects the classic science fiction franchise created by [[Performer~P108615~Gene Roddenberry~generoddenberry]] with this feature film that embraces the rich history of the influential television and film series while also exploring some uncharted territory. [[Feature~V358376~Heroes~heroes[tvseries]]] star [[Performer~P362550~Zachary Quinto~zacharyquinto]] assumes the role of the Federation Starfleet lieutenant and Vulcan made famous in the original series by [[Performer~P104553~Leonard Nimoy~leonardnimoy]] (who also appears in an older incarnation of his original role), Spock, with [[Performer~P277901~Anton Yelchin~antonyelchin]] stepping into the role of USS Enterprise navigator Pavel Chekov, [[Performer~P277350~Zoe Saldana~zoesaldana]] assuming the role of communications officer Uhura, [[Performer~P307202~Simon Pegg~simonpegg]] keeping the ship in top shape as chief engineer Montgomery Scott (aka "Scotty"), and [[Performer~P224103~Eric Bana~ericbana]] tormenting the benevolent space explorers as the villainous Nero. [[Feature~V288234~Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle~haroldandkumargotowhitecastle]] co-star [[Performer~P224268~John Cho~johncho]] also boards the Enterprise as Hikaru Sulu, with [[Performer~P381420~Chris Pine~chrispine]] and [[Performer~P242459~Karl Urban~karlurban]] assuming the legendary roles of Captain Kirk and Leonard "Bones" McCoy, respectively. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:May 7, 2009

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Producers Guild of America J.J. Abrams Producer of the Year 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Joel Harlow Best Makeup 2009 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Anna Behlmer Best Sound 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Anna Behlmer Best Sound Mixing 2009 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Mark Stoeckinger Best Sound 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Mark Stoeckinger Best Sound Editing 2009 Nominee
American Cinema Editors Guild Maryann Brandon Best Edited Feature - Drama 2009 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Roberto Orci Best Adapted Screenplay 2009 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Roger Guyett Best Special Visual Effects 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Roger Guyett Best Visual Effects 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Barney Burman Best Makeup 2009 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Russell Earl Best Special Visual Effects 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Russell Earl Best Visual Effects 2009 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Ben Burtt Best Sound 2009 Nominee
American Cinema Editors Guild Mary Jo Markey Best Edited Feature - Drama 2009 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Peter Devlin Best Sound 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Peter Devlin Best Sound Mixing 2009 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Andy Nelson Best Sound 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Andy Nelson Best Sound Mixing 2009 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Burt Dalton Best Special Visual Effects 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Burt Dalton Best Visual Effects 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alan Rankin Best Sound Editing 2009 Nominee
Producers Guild of America Damon Lindelof Producer of the Year 2009 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Alex Kurtzman Best Adapted Screenplay 2009 Nominee

Cast

Chris Pine
as James Kirk
Zachary Quinto
as Spock
Leonard Nimoy
as Spock Prime
Eric Bana
as Capt. Nero
Bruce Greenwood
as Capt. Christopher Pike
Karl Urban
as Leonard "Bones" McCoy
Zoe Saldana
as Uhura
Simon Pegg
as Scotty
John Cho
as Sulu
Anton Yelchin
as Pavel Checkov
Winona Ryder
as Amanda Grayson
Chris Hemsworth
as George Kirk
Clifton Collins, Jr.
as Ayel
Ben Cross
as Sarek
Tyler Perry
as Adm. Richard Barnett
Jennifer Morrison
as Winona Kirk
Jimmy Bennett
as James Kirk (young)
Darlena Tejeiro
as Flight Officer
Rachel Nichols
as Gaila
Amanda Foreman
as Hannity
Majel Barrett-Roddenberry
as Starfleet Computer

Crew

J.J. Abrams
Director
J.J. Abrams
Producer
Damon Lindelof
Producer
Roberto Orci
Screenwriter
Alex Kurtzman
Screenwriter
Dan Mindel
Cinematographer
Michael Giacchino
Composer (Music Score)
Maryann Brandon
Editor
Mary Jo Markey
Editor
Keith P. Cunningham
Art Director
Jeffrey Chernov
Executive Producer
Bryan Burk
Executive Producer
Roberto Orci
Executive Producer
Alex Kurtzman
Executive Producer
Michael Kaplan
Costume Designer
Aaron Millar
Assistant Location Manager
Roger Guyett
Visual Effects Supervisor
Advertisement

Other movies like this