Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Starting Out in the Evening Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P40453~Frank Langella~franklangella]] ([[Feature~V14638~Dracula~dracula]], [[Feature~V317061~Good Night, and Good Luck.~goodnightandgoodluck]]) stars in [[Performer~P408233~Andrew Wagner~andrewwagner]]'s independent drama Starting Out in the Evening, an adaptation of the acclaimed 1999 best-seller by [[Performer~P504504~Brian Morton~brianmorton]]. [[Performer~P40453~Langella~franklangella]] plays Leonard Schiller, a once-celebrated author whose first four novels inspired Heather Wolfe ([[Performer~P230190~Lauren Ambrose~laurenambrose]]) to pursue a career as a writer. These days, Leonard is still working toward completion of the novel that has occupied his life for nearly a decade. On the surface, Leonard has removed himself completely from the deep-seated need for success that characterized his life at an earlier point in time; but on a more buried level, he still longs for his fiction to be rediscovered and re-acclaimed. Now an eager graduate student in the throes of her thesis, Heather is writing her dissertation on Schiller, and promptly convinces him that she can use the thesis to regenerate popularity and discovery of his work. Heather also projects personal interest in Leonard, however, which cuts straight through to the core of his loneliness and brings him in touch with his need for a meaningful relationship even as it leaves him feeling shaken and increasingly uncertain. Meanwhile, Leonard finds that his relationship with his daughter, Ariel ([[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]]), is challenged, both by Heather's presence and by Ariel's decision to begin dating her former boyfriend Casey ([[Performer~P232663~Adrian Lester~adrianlester]]) once again -- a fact that Leonard finds most upsetting thanks to his disapproval of Casey. Suddenly, Leonard feels his entire world turned upside down, from his familial relationships to the security of his writing to his own physical vitality -- but he is also taking risks and plunging headfirst into the core of life for the first time, thus living out the principles long celebrated and upheld in his fiction and giving himself the capacity to grow. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:November 23, 2007

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Boston Society of Film Critics Frank Langella Best Actor 2007 Winner
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Frank Langella Best Actor 2007 Nominee
National Society of Film Critics Frank Langella Best Actor 2007 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Frank Langella Best Actor 2007 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Frank Langella Best Male Lead 2007 Nominee
Golden Satellite Award Frank Langella Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2007 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Andrew Wagner Best Screenplay 2007 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Fred Parnes Best Screenplay 2007 Nominee

Crew

Andrew Wagner
Director
Nancy Israel
Producer
Andrew Wagner
Producer
Gary Winick
Producer
Fred Parnes
Producer
Fred Parnes
Screenwriter
Andrew Wagner
Screenwriter
Harlan Bosmajian
Cinematographer
Linda Cohen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Adam Gorgoni
Composer (Music Score)
Gena Bleier
Editor
Carol Strober
Production Designer
Dara Wishingrad
Art Director
Mandy Tagger
Co-producer
Allen Myerson
Executive Producer
John Sloss
Executive Producer
Douglas Harmon
Executive Producer
Greg Moyer
Executive Producer
Claudia Brown
Costume Designer
Jan Mclaughlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Cindy Tolan
Casting
Advertisement