Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Star Trek V: The Final Frontier Details


Kirk (William Shatner), McCoy (DeForest Kelley), and Spock (Leonard Nimoy) are enjoying a vacation in Yosemite National Park when duty calls. Vulcan cult leader Sybok (Laurence Luckinbill) and his followers have invaded a "planet of peace," where delegates from hostile races coexist in a sort of intergalactic United Nations. Ordered to quell the crisis, the Enterprise crew discovers that it's a ruse perpetrated by Sybok, who takes over the ship, piloting it toward the "Great Barrier," an energy field at the galaxy's rim. Sybok, who is revealed to be Spock's half-brother, possesses the ability to help people face their "inner pain." He also believes that God lies beyond the Great Barrier. Once arriving there, however, Sybok and the Enterprise crew discover only an imprisoned alien entity. Shatner wrote the story and made his directorial debut with the film, failing to ape the success that his colleague Nimoy enjoyed with his pair of Nimoy directing forays. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:June 9, 1989


William Shatner
as James T. Kirk
Leonard Nimoy
as Mr. Spock
DeForest Kelley
as Leonard "Bones" McCoy
George Takei
as Hikaru Sulu
James Doohan
as Montgomery "Scotty" Scott
Walter Koenig
as Pavel Chekov
Nichelle Nichols
as Uhura
David Warner
as St. John Talbot
Laurence Luckinbill
as Sybok
Charles Cooper
as Korrd
Cynthia Gouw
as Caithlin Dar
Todd Bryant
as Captain Klaa
Spice Williams
as Vixis
Rex Holman
as Yonn
George Murdock
as "God"
Cynthia Blaise
as Amanda
Bill Quinn
as McCoy's Father
Harve Bennett
as Starfleet Chief of Staff
Melanie Shatner
as Yeoman
Steve Susskind
as Pitchman


William Shatner
Ralph Winter
Harve Bennett
Harve Bennett
Screen Story
David Loughery
David Loughery
Screen Story
William Shatner
Screen Story
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Peter E. Berger
Herman Zimmerman
Production Designer
Nilo Rodis-Jamero
Art Director
Brooke Breton
Associate Producer
Ralph Winter
Executive Producer
Andrew Neskoromny
Set Designer
Antoinette Gordon
Set Designer
Nilo Rodis-Jamero
Costume Designer
Dodie Shepard
Costume Designer
Bran Ferren
Special Effects
Gene Roddenberry
Warren Hamilton
Sound Effects Editor
Jeff Dawn
Bran Ferren
Visual Effects
Wes Dawn