Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Stand by Me Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on the [[Performer~P97473~Stephen King~stephenking]] short story The Body, [[Performer~P107886~Rob Reiner~robreiner]]'s easygoing nostalgia piece is set in Castle Rock, OR, over Labor Day weekend, 1959. A quartet of boys, inseparable friends all, set out in search of a dead body that one of the boys overhears his brother talking about. The foursome consists of intellectual Gordie ([[Performer~P75768~Wil Wheaton~wilwheaton]]), born leader Chris ([[Performer~P56631~River Phoenix~riverphoenix]]), emotionally disturbed Teddy ([[Performer~P22999~Corey Feldman~coreyfeldman]]), and chubby hanger-on Vern ([[Performer~P53330~Jerry O'Connell~jerryoconnell]]). The boys' adventures en route to the elusive body are colored by the personal pressures brought to bear on all of them by the adult world. [[Performer~P88268~Richard Dreyfuss~richarddreyfuss]], playing the grown-up Gordie, narrates the film, while [[Performer~P69200~Kiefer Sutherland~kiefersutherland]] dominates every scene he's in as a brutish high-school bully. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 8, 1986

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Rob Reiner Best Director 1986 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Rob Reiner Best Director 1986 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Rob Reiner Best Director 1986 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ray Gideon Best Adapted Screenplay 1986 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Ray Gideon Best Screenplay 1986 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bruce A. Evans Best Adapted Screenplay 1986 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Bruce A. Evans Best Screenplay 1986 Nominee

Cast

Wil Wheaton
as Gordie Lachance
River Phoenix
as Chris Chambers
Corey Feldman
as Teddy Duchamp
Jerry O'Connell
as Vern Tessio
Richard Dreyfuss
as The Writer
Kiefer Sutherland
as Ace Merrill
John Cusack
as Denny Lachance
Bruce Kirby
as Mr. Quidacioluo
Gary Riley
as Charlie Hogan
Jason Oliver
as Vince Desjardins
Bradley Gregg
as Eyeball Chambers
Chance Quinn
as Gordon's Son
Charlie Owens
as Lardass Hecklers
Dick Durock
as Bill Travis
Geanette Bobst
as Mayor's Wife
Jason Naylor
as His Friend
Andy Lindberg
as Lardass Hogan
Ken Hodges
as Donelley Twin
Kent Lutrell
as Ray Brower
Lee McCain
as Mrs. Lachance
Madeleine Swift
as Waitress
Marshall Bell
as Mr. Lachance
Art Burke
as Principal Wiggins
Rick Elliott
as Jack Mudgett
Scott Beach
as Mayor Grundy
Susan Thorpe
as Fat Lady
William Bronder
as Milo Pressman
Casey Siemaszko
as Billy Tessio

Crew

Rob Reiner
Director
Ray Gideon
Producer
Bruce A. Evans
Producer
Andrew Scheinman
Producer
Bruce A. Evans
Screenwriter
Ray Gideon
Screenwriter
Thomas del Ruth
Cinematographer
Jack Nitzsche
Composer (Music Score)
Celest Ray
Musical Direction/Supervision
Robert Leighton
Editor
Dennis Washington
Production Designer
Rick Barker
Stunts
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Steve Nicolaides
Production Manager
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Jim Behnke
Second Unit Director
Monty Westmore
Makeup
Stephen King
Short Story Author
Advertisement