Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Stalag 17 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The scene is a German POW camp, sometime during the mid-1940s. Stalag 17, exclusively populated by American sergeants, is overseen by sadistic commandant Oberst Von Schernbach ([[Performer~P107025~Otto Preminger~ottopreminger]]) and the deceptively avuncular sergeant Schultz ([[Performer~P62113~Sig Ruman~sigrumann]]). The inmates spend their waking hours circumventing the boredom of prison life; at night, they attempt to arrange escapes. When two of the escapees, Johnson and Manfredi, are shot down like dogs by the Nazi guards, Stalag 17's resident wiseguy Sefton ([[Performer~P32805~William Holden~williamholden]]) callously collects the bets he'd placed concerning the fugitives' success. No doubt about it: there's a security leak in the barracks, and everybody suspects the enterprising Sefton -- who manages to obtain all the creature comforts he wants -- of being a Nazi infiltrator. Things get particularly dicey when Lt. Dunbar (Don Taylor), temporarily billetted in Stalag 17 before being transferred to an officer's camp, tells his new bunkmates that he was responsible for the destruction of a German ammunition train. Sure enough, this information is leaked to the Commandant, and Dunbar is subjected to a brutal interrogation. Certain by now that Sefton is the "mole", the other inmates beat him to a pulp. But Sefton soon learns who the real spy is, and reveals that information on the night of Dunbar's planned escape. Despite the seriousness of the situation, Stalag 17 is as much comedy as wartime melodrama, with most of the laughs provided by [[Performer~P68664~Robert Strauss~robertstrauss]] as the [[Performer~P28037~Betty Grable~bettygrable]]-obsessed "Animal" and [[Performer~P41743~Harvey Lembeck~harveylembeck]] as Stosh's best buddy Harry. Other standouts in the all-male cast include [[Performer~P89065~Richard Erdman~richarderdman]] as prisoner spokesman Hoffy, [[Performer~P8058~Neville Brand~nevillebrand]] as the scruffy Duke, [[Performer~P28319~Peter Graves~petergraves]] as blonde-haired, blue-eyed "all American boy" Price, Gil Stratton as Sefton's sidekick Cookie (who also narrates the film) and [[Performer~P68493~Robinson Stone~robinsonstone]] as the catatonic, shell-shocked Joey. Writer/producer/director [[Performer~P116768~Billy Wilder~billywilder]] and coscenarist Edmund Blum remained faithful to the plot and mood the Donald Bevan/Edmund Trzcinski stage play Stalag 17, while changing virtually every line of dialogue-all to the better, as it turned out (Trzcinski, who like Bevan based the play on his own experiences as a POW, appears in the film as the ingenuous prisoner who "really believes" his wife's story about the baby abandoned on her doorstep). [[Performer~P32805~William Holden~williamholden]] won an Academy Award for his hard-bitten portrayal of Sefton, which despite a hokey "I'm really a swell guy after all" gesture near the end of the film still retains its bite today. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:July 1, 1953

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Directors Guild of America Billy Wilder Best Director 1953 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Billy Wilder Best Director 1953 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Strauss Best Supporting Actor 1953 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences William Holden Best Actor 1953 Winner

Cast

William Holden
as Sefton
Don Taylor
as Lieutenant Dunbar
Otto Preminger
as Von Scherbach
Robert Strauss
as "Animal" Stosh
Harvey Lembeck
as Harry Shapiro
Peter Graves
as Price
Sig Rumann
as Schulz
Neville Brand
as Duke
Richard Erdman
as Hoffy
Peter Baldwin
as Johnson
Robert Shawley
as Blondie
Gil Stratton
as Cookie/Narrator
Jay Lawrence
as Bagradian
Robin Morse
Billy Sheehan
Jerry Gerber
Janice Carroll
Donald Cameron
Paul Salata
as Prisoners with Beards
John Mitchum
William McLean
Joe Ploski
as German Guard Volley
Tommy Cook
as Prisoners of War
Bob Templeton
Mike Bush
as Dancer
John Patrick Veitch
Max Willenz
as German Lieutenant Supervisor

Crew

Billy Wilder
Director
Billy Wilder
Producer
Billy Wilder
Screenwriter
Edmund Trzcinski
Play Author
Edwin Blum
Screenwriter
Ernest Laszlo
Cinematographer
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
Doane Harrison
Editor
George Tomasini
Editor
Franz Bachelin
Art Director
Hal Pereira
Art Director
Ray Moyer
Set Designer
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Harold Lewis
Sound/Sound Designer
Gene Garvin
Sound/Sound Designer
Gordon Jennings
Special Effects
Wally Westmore
Makeup
Advertisement