Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Sep. 23, 2014

Stage Fright Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Horror film actor [[Performer~P112029~Michele Soavi~michelesoavi]]'s directorial debut was this stylish giallo thriller about an escaped lunatic terrorizing the cast of a stage musical who get locked in a theater after dark. [[Performer~P8075~David Brandon~davidbrandon]], [[Performer~P16214~Barbara Cupisti~barbaracupisti]], and perennial victim [[Performer~P58412~Giovanni Lombardo Radice~giovannilombardoradice]] (aka "[[Performer~P50661~John Morghen~johnmorghen]]") lead the cast, most of whom spend their time sniping at each other with amusingly typical backstage cruelty. The murder scenes are the film's primary attraction, artfully handled by Soavi in setpieces such as a blue-lighted stage strewn with feather-covered bodies. The killer wears an owl mask, which is offputting at first but seems progressively more sinister as the film goes along. Soavi's stylistic mentor, [[Performer~P79899~Dario Argento~darioargento]], directed the similar [[Feature~V49132~Opera~opera]] the same year, while this one was produced by [[Performer~P101624~Aristide Massaccesi~aristidemassaccesi]] ("[[Performer~P86495~Joe D'Amato~joedamato]]") from a script by actor [[Performer~P146970~Luigi Montefiori~luigimontefiore]] ("George Eastman"). ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

Crew

Michele Soavi
Director
Joe D'Amato
Producer
Donatella Donati
Producer
George Eastman
Screenwriter
Selwyn Jepson
Book Author
Simon Boswell
Composer (Music Score)
Advertisement